Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 01:58 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default Weird Lines on Taskbar

What the hell is this?

Imageshack - weirdline.jpg

I tried ending explorer, i tried everything to get rid of it... is it an error?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 02:04 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Do you see it all the time? Or just then?

If its all the time I'd say screen failure.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 02:09 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

no, in fact they go away when I end explorer.exe and when I restarted it it looked exactly the same as before. A full computer restart fixed it, but it was weird because it happened after a furmark benchmark test.. Im gonna see if it will do it again...
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 02:44 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

they actually look like winamps equalizer , or some other software equalizer that is embedded into the task bar. have you installed or made any changes to sound software lately ?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 02:51 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

when in doubt,run ubuntu or mint as a live cd. they show up there too?
check cables,reseat card(s) etc.

still no go? rma time.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 09:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

It all went away after I did a restart, I just updated my video drivers after this all happened too... I dunno. It might of been that for crossfire it only works when its in fullscreen, but I had furmark in a window so my 1st video card took all of the load. Weird thing is that I could move my mouse over it, its not like it was on the top layer of things. Also ending explorer to make the whole task bar made it go away, and as you can see it looks like its part of the background, but when I starting explorer.exe again it went back to EXACTLY the same way it was before. IDK what it was, I didnt download anything.. I just ran that furmark test. Point is that its gone now.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 21, 2011, 09:37 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

You guys dont understand, it wasn't like it was my video cards or anything, because it disappeared when the explorer.exe process was ended, but as soon as I restarted the process it came back onto the screen the exact same way as before. Even changing themes didnt change it, but changing the colour of the task bar changed it too. Thinks of it as being glued to the back of the taskbar layer...
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 08:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 240

My System Specs

Default

well there is an option to run furmark with 2 gpus. not just one, you should have 2 icons to choose from

could have just been a temp. graphical glitch

you updated your drivers, did you reboot after you updated the drivers or ran furmark right after the update ?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 09:58 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 203
Default

Yup i did exactly that, I ran the test like 3 times after and nothing happened. I dont know if it was neceissarily a graphical error from my VGA's it was like a software error because of what I explained above.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2011, 07:20 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
An engineer, a mathematician, and a computer programmer are driving down the road when the car they are in gets a flat tire. (...) The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself.
(Miscellaneous Science Jokes - Jokes and Science)

My guess is the Furmark caused a little mess in your GPU memory or driver that caused it to render the "texture" of the taskbar with the artifacts. Window itself sometimes fails to remove tool tips and other "temporary" dialogs, but I don't know if there's any software that uses that as an icon.
Oh well, as long as it doesn't become a regular occurrence
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
red/green vertical lines on monitor Jonwall Video Cards 6 November 18, 2010 03:49 PM
GTX260 lines? Haiden Troubleshooting 23 April 19, 2010 06:11 PM
Start Button and Taskbar problems. Win 7 shammancer O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 January 5, 2010 12:52 PM
Exttended Desktop not showing taskbar, icons etc. Cranky Video Cards 15 September 4, 2009 03:15 PM
TaskBar Shuffle enaberif O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 January 6, 2007 12:28 AM