Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 12:52 PM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default auto-close processes

I was wondering if there is a way that I can write a little program (e.g. a program shortcut or ms-batch file) that will close a specific service?

I am running two instances of F@H Core, and would like to know if there is a way I can make it so at the click of a button, I close the two processes so I am good to go when I want to game.

Likewise, I would like to automate their re-execution at the click of a button.

Any ideas?

Or does the fact that they are on low priority mean that if I want to game, my OS knows to give CPU priority to the game versus my F@H programs? (If this is the case I would still like to learn about auto-closing processes)
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2008, 05:28 PM
vdf22's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 146
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Cipher View Post
I was wondering if there is a way that I can write a little program (e.g. a program shortcut or ms-batch file) that will close a specific service?

I am running two instances of F@H Core, and would like to know if there is a way I can make it so at the click of a button, I close the two processes so I am good to go when I want to game.

Likewise, I would like to automate their re-execution at the click of a button.

Any ideas?

Or does the fact that they are on low priority mean that if I want to game, my OS knows to give CPU priority to the game versus my F@H programs? (If this is the case I would still like to learn about auto-closing processes)
I'm pretty sure F@H stops folding when you start doing something with your computer like playing games.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2008, 07:32 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

No I have gotten performance hits with folding and gaming but it was only small, but for games like Crysis a small decrease in performance can mean the difference between enjoyable and horrible.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2008, 08:38 PM
werty316's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 427
Default

Why not just run them manually? I remember reading about an app that can hide any opened windows into a taskbar icon, which came in handy when using the console but don't have it setup as a service, but I can't remember wait was called.
__________________
If you can see Chuck Norris, he can see you. If you can't see Chuck Norris you may be only seconds away from death.

Last edited by werty316; January 27, 2008 at 08:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
close to 2 dual core 2140s for $5 bucks Rapid-X Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 6 February 26, 2008 10:41 AM
iceq3 3870 auto fan presets changed? sswilson Troubleshooting 6 February 17, 2008 10:42 AM
Vista processes b1lk1 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 October 10, 2007 12:14 PM
Microsoft to Pay $50 Million for Exclusive Grand Theft Auto Episodes Babrbarossa Gaming 3 August 7, 2007 06:19 PM
Auto edit BrainEater Suggestions & Feedback 3 March 19, 2007 11:16 PM