Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old April 19, 2011, 09:57 PM
MVP

My System Specs

Default Win7 Home to PRO Upgrade Q&A

I've got a couple of pc's, all of which came with pre-installed Windows 7 Home Premium (I hate preinstalled/want the OEM Disc) and I'm going to be upgrading to Windows 7 Pro.(on one PC to use as a server).

I've never done this before and I'm curious as to what to expect, how/will it affect anything other that my current OS?

Is there anything I should be aware off before I do this?

Last edited by The Quicken; April 20, 2011 at 02:22 AM. Reason: clarity
Old April 19, 2011, 10:12 PM
Hall Of Fame

Is there a reason you need Pro? The only real reason you'd need it is to join a domain.
Old April 19, 2011, 10:40 PM
Hall Of Fame

so your saying that you have w7 pro on new machine and want to load rest of home machines?

your only allowed one install per COA , if older hardware may have to bring it up to current hardware for older stuff not supported by w7
Old April 20, 2011, 01:12 AM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

If there was something that Pro offered that you needed, you'd know what that something was. Honestly, I'd just do fresh Win 7 Home installs using a retail disc image and the OEM keys.
Old April 20, 2011, 01:52 AM
MVP

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by YukonTrooper View Post
If there was something that Pro offered that you needed, you'd know what that something was. Honestly, I'd just do fresh Win 7 Home installs using a retail disc image and the OEM keys.

TY (networking, networking, networking)
Old April 20, 2011, 01:53 AM
MVP

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Is there a reason you need Pro? The only real reason you'd need it is to join a domain.
Bingo! lol

Want to set up a server. (on one PC)
Old April 20, 2011, 07:17 AM
Hall Of Fame

Quote:
Originally Posted by The Quicken View Post
Bingo! lol