Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2011, 07:05 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default SBS 2011 essentials

I just install "Windows Small Business Server Essentials", they may have call it Server for the dummies...

So simple to use, they have the same "Windows Home Server" type of dashboard, MS finally understand peoples who will want something easy like Home Server for their business, and they increase the users connections from 10 to 25.

Even the Active directory is setup automatically, this is not good news for IT, as you donít need IT to manage it, well, we will see.

The Client connect for the first time in the same way as Home Server, the installation will add the client to the backup ( yes the SBS backup clients PC too)

Definitively a good product that close the gap between Home Server and Windows 2008r2 serverís family.

Last edited by botat29; April 17, 2011 at 07:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 18, 2011, 07:40 AM
Rison's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Truro, NS
Posts: 936

My System Specs

Default

yeah, the dashboard was with 2008 versions too. Makes things "easier" for admins or IT types without a lot of server knowledge to look after the server.

There are three versions i'm aware of, the essentials, standard and some 'premium' version.

I didn't think the essentials was available yet.. i'm assuming technet, or some "other" method of acquiring it?
__________________

Quote:
I'll learn to manage my anger, when people learn to manage their stupid.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2011, 06:00 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

Supports Quad Sockets, unlimited cores :)
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 18, 2011, 09:36 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 4DoorGTZ View Post
Supports Quad Sockets, unlimited cores :)
Essentials = 2 sockets, grumble grumble
Standard = 4 sockets
3hrs wasted
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2011, 06:48 AM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

Can you honestly tell me why you would need a crippled exchange on a new version of home server for all purposes in a 4 socket server? even if you are a small business that needs computational power for a special app, your not going to be putting it on your DC. MS is protecting their product line, at the same time no IT pro is going to suggest putting this with a power hungry app. First time your exchange store has a crap and you tell them they can't use GP Dynamics while you fix exchange they will start to wonder about your competence.

I think 2 sockets of any modern server CPU is more then enough for this little beast...just my 2 cents :-)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2011, 09:43 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 823

My System Specs

Default

BlueByte: ...thats why the simpler interfaces of the SBS series still won't replace skilled IT.

Microsoft doesn't have a SBS Wizard for proper IT planning, implementation, migration and policies.

It is a low cost alternative for companies with users under 75 who want features like Exchange, Sharepoint, remote web workplace, routing and remote access, Active Directory services, etc etc.

Speaking of which the RWW on SBS 2011 is far improved over 2008.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2011, 05:03 PM
BlueByte's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Maynooth
Posts: 551
Default

Oh I understand that, I was just wondering why 4DoorGTZ thought it was a waste for only two sockets. As a side note as mentioned this is even more watered down to 25 users vs the 75 you can put on standard SBS.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 19, 2011, 07:16 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 239
Default

some members talk about exchange in this tread, just to make sure ; exchange and SQL are not include with sbs 2011 essential


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 20, 2011, 01:03 AM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 661

My System Specs

Default

lol, I was just looking for some flavor of Windows to utilize my new toy, a dedicated F@H rig. Win7 Ultimate is only good up to 2 sockets, Saw that Windows Server 2008 supported 4 sockets, saw SBS 2011 was kinda an updated version of 2008.

In no way was this gonna be a Server, just wanted to play in windows with 48cores, playing in Linux for now.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Troubleshooting Essentials Gav Troubleshooting 32 October 31, 2013 07:55 AM
Vista Security 2011 virus removal (aka Xp and Win7 sec 2011) Jeff1961 Off Topic 15 April 28, 2011 09:02 PM
Silverstone Prepares Strider Essentials PSU Soultribunal Press Releases & Tech News 5 February 1, 2010 01:43 PM
Microsoft Security Essentials Goes Public, Free Anti-Virus Software For All FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 41 October 7, 2009 11:07 AM
Reviewer Tryouts: NCIx Essentials 120 Water cooling kit 3.0charlie Member Reviews 11 November 15, 2007 02:37 PM