Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2011, 06:22 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default YOu are using VM ( Virtual Machine) for ?

As the title said, what are you doing with your VM ? Do you use it in production or just for testing?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2011, 07:26 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,700

My System Specs

Default

Old software.
Sandbox env.
etc
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 2, 2011, 07:49 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,814

My System Specs

Default

Testing on my computer via VMware Workstation.

Production on my home server via Hyper-V role. It may seem silly (mainly just lazy) but I run a Server 2003 R2 VM on my 2008 R2 server to do web hosting. Mainly because my 2008 has IIS installed to support WSUS and I couldn't be arsed to muck around with settings to change ports
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 07:39 AM
Herne's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 83
Default

Finally getting off my ass and learning some programming. Start the downloads, go eat supper, come back and have Ubuntu running in a self-contained environment where Python is native.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 01:00 PM
Alpine's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Boucherville / South shore of MTL
Posts: 842

My System Specs

Default

IM using VM and Virtual box for testing and Folding....:-)
__________________
Main system
|I7 3930K|Asus P9X79 WS|Evga GTX 690 Signature|Samsung 256G Pro|Corsair H100|Dominator Platinium 16GB 2133Mhz|
Corsair AX1200|Corsair 540 AIR|Corsair SP2500|Corsair Vengeance 2000|
Server system
|I7 3820|Asus P9X79|12G G.Skill 1600Mhz|Noctua NH-D14|Corsair Force 3 120GB|LSI megaRAID 9261 8|5X 3TB|Corsair AX650|Fractal Design Arc Midi|
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 01:09 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,561
Default

my VM runs freeNAS for my home server
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 3, 2011, 01:16 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,278

My System Specs

Default

Mostly testing Various OS's like Linux, Unix, non Microsoft OS's , I also use my VM with an Win7x64 to make portable software and portable games. it makes it allot easier because after you make the portable I can uninstall the software and my OS is fresh to make a new Portable.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Virtual PC botat29 New Builds 6 March 31, 2011 07:18 AM
HD for Virtual drive botat29 Storage 12 February 7, 2011 07:49 PM
Virtual Forum Toyoracer Suggestions & Feedback 2 April 18, 2010 07:16 PM
WinSMP MPICH vs Virtual Machine Dwayne HardwareCanucks F@H Team 5 April 12, 2009 09:45 AM
Machine burnt out. New machine needed Neutronium New Builds 15 March 18, 2009 12:23 AM