Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 12:20 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,527

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post
Yeah, same here, I used to be big on disabling every unneeded service, but since realized that it makes almost no difference in the vast majority of situations.

Although 65 processes seems like a lot... I'm only at 55 right now, and I've got about 20 programs open.
Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
For what you are wanting to do you need to create the accounts on the machines separately and password them.
Thanks guys, I started a new thread to avoid jacking this one.

Vista --> XP Network Issue
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 06:16 AM
Mr. Cipher's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: London (UK)
Posts: 458
Default

I do not like the issues surrounding Vista DRM and the fact that it can (a) monopolize what I watch (b) control how the content I purchase is played on my system, and (c) destroy my hardware.
__________________
i7 Red
EVGA X58 Classy | i7 920 D0 | Megahalems w. 1 noctua push| Mushkin Redline | Radeon HD 6870 | 2x640 WD Black | Corsair HX1000 | HAF 932 | Asus 26" LCD

C2Q Blue
Gigabyte EP45-UD3p | Q8400 @ 2.66ghz | Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme w. Scythe | Mushkin Redline PC2-8000 5-5-5-15-2T @ 400mhz |
BFG GTX 295 | 1.32TB WD HDDs | Corsair HX 620 W | Antec 900 | Acer 20" LCD
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 09:33 AM
Iceman's Avatar
Rookie
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 47
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
I am having network issues with Vista too. It could be a result of my tweaking though I am not sure. In all honesty networking is still a big hazy area to me. I can get my XP computers to see the Vista computer and move files... but the Vista computer cannot see anything on my home network?
I had this problem too. It seems that Vista has a different default workgroup that was preventing my computers from seeing each other. To change it, go to Control Panel\System and Maintenance\System and then under the Computer Name tab, click on the change button. At the bottom there is a Workgroup text box, change it to whatever your XP machine is using ("MSHOME" by default). Fixed the issue for me anyways.

I've been using 64-bit Vista for about a month now and haven't had any problems. Once you disable a lot of the stuff you don't need, especially UAC, Vista runs quite well. I think it boils down to if you have the hardware or not. With an e8400 and 4gigs of ram, both XP and Vista run "fast" so I really can't tell the difference.

That said, Vista doesn't really bring that much to the table to make it worth upgrading from xp. There are exactly 2 reasons why I chose Vista over XP for my new PC: I have 4 gigs of ram (which can't all be used by a 32 bit OS) and Vista has DirectX 10 support.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2008, 05:57 PM
SimGamer's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Office
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

Just got a notice for driver update for ICH9R from Intel. Ran the install and now I've lost Control Panel again... sheeeit!
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2008, 08:38 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 268
Default

I've run Vista as my main OS since November of 2006.

I now have my three desktops all running Vista Ultimate x64 SP1, & my notebook running Vista Ultimate x86 SP1 alpha (been on there since last fall; haven't bothered to update).

I think that say enough about how i feel about Vista
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2008, 05:27 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

See more after the service pak is out and running for a bit.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; March 8, 2008 at 11:36 AM. Reason: wording
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 8, 2008, 06:05 AM
SimGamer's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Office
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

I'm hoping that these minor annoyances will be reduced/eliminated after SP1. But then I'm just an eternal 'glass-half-full' kinda guy or in other words a typical MS customer.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2008, 08:55 PM
SimGamer's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: The Office
Posts: 67

My System Specs

Default

SP1 installed via update and no issues so far. Everything works and is stable for several days now. Here's hopin' it stays that way
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2008, 06:19 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Talking

Only time vista gave me bluescreen was with a ahem with an unknown copy.

Soon as I bought legit Vista Ultimate works good.

Change a hard drive thou and it wants authorization....had to talk to somebody.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 24, 2008, 06:18 PM
vdf22's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 146
Default

In the year or so that I've had Vista I haven't had any major problems. There were a couple issues with IE7 but most were fixed. Since I got it I've never even thought about going back to XP. I don't see what everyone's complaining about, when half the people that are complaining probably never used Vista anyway and are just copying what everyone else says about it. Seriously, did nobody expect a few problems when it first came out?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes