Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 09:28 AM
sakage.shinga's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 215

My System Specs

Default Reformatting My Rig

Hi guys,

In an effort to resolve some Windows glitches and video playback issues, I've decided to reformat my computer. I've done this numerous times before, but this will be the first time with my current rig, and I have a few questions.

Currently, I have Windows 7 installed on my C:/ drive along with all my applications, and I realize that these will have to be reinstalled. However, all of my games are installed on a separate partition (D:/) on that same hdd. Below are my concerns:

1. How will I get the games back up and running after reformat? Won't their registry keys be deleted during the reformat, even if the game files are on D:/?
2. My Steam client, along with all my Steam games, are all installed on D:/, but again, how will I get Steam back up and running after wiping C:/?
3. My iTunes is installed on C:/, and I do have a back up of my mp3s, but will reinstalling iTunes after the reformat cause my iPod to not recognize my computer as the original rig? (iTunes won't let you sync your iPod to someone else's computer).

That's basically it. I'd appreciate any help regarding this matter. My worst nightmare after reformat would be to have to completely delete all my games on D:/ drive and then reinstall them; I don't even want to think about having to download all my Steam games again (or worse, to lose them permanently).

Thank you!
__________________
Photography/Gaming build: i7-4770K, NH-D14, Z87 Sabertooth, 16GB Ripjaws X, GTX 780 OC DirectCU II 3GB, M500 480GB, Caviar Black 2TB, Dual Red 4TBx2 (RAID 1), XFX Pro 850W 80+ Gold, Graphite Series 600T SE White
HTPC build: i5-750, Hyper 212+, P7P55D Pro, 8GB Ripjaws X, R6970 DirectCU II 2GB, Caviar Black 640GB/2TB, Caviar Green 3TB, Seagate Barracuda 3TB, Strider Plus 750W, CM 690 II Advanced
Mobile Media: Asus Transformer Infinity 32GB w/ keyboard dock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 09:38 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

You can just backup the Steam games via the backup feature included with Steam.

I normally just copy and paste the installation directory for Steam, it normally fixes itself when I launch it on a reformatted computer. But since you're so concerned, just use the backup feature.

As for iTunes, I have no clue as I don't use it myself.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 10:17 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sakage.shinga View Post
2. My Steam client, along with all my Steam games, are all installed on D:/, but again, how will I get Steam back up and running after wiping C:/?!
very simple I do it all the time :

You delete every folders and files in steam, exept the folder name "steamapps" and the files name steam.exe

once you reinstall windows, you just double click steam.exe, and it will redownload the stuf need to run it ( about 2 minutes download only. )
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 11:13 AM
Spikemaul's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 395

My System Specs

Default

Here's a guide for iTunes that has helped me in the past. iTunes: Back up your iTunes library by copying to an external hard drive
Hope it will help you.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2011, 01:05 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,374

My System Specs

Default

to back up most things on a windows7 pc you should copy your "C:\Users" folder that has the files you want to back up because most if not all of your settings are in there,every time that I have formatted I have always copied the "C:\Users" files also any game save files that are else where, I have always tried to save my files on a separate hd just in case something screws up
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wowww you can change mobo without reformatting on windows 7!! Ironmonk O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 October 21, 2010 04:34 PM
My old rig. canDarian Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 13 May 26, 2010 03:43 PM
Norton and reformatting clone63 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 9 September 19, 2009 03:04 AM
Reformatting... automatic Troubleshooting 12 October 23, 2008 10:12 PM
reformatting cmac79 Troubleshooting 7 April 11, 2008 11:11 AM