Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 09:29 PM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default Windows 7 Wont Install Updates

I've got a friend's laptop that's been giving me grief for a while and it's a headscratcher. To me anyways.


It's a Lenovo notebook running 7 professional 32 bit. When I open up Windows update, it checks for updates but just sits there forever and never finds any. Yesterday it showed some updates and when I tried to download them and install, after 4 hours it said that all of them failed. When I look at my update history it shows that the last time any updates installed successfully was in December.

I also tried downloading SP1 directly from MS. When I run the installer it says "insufficent system resources"



No malware or viruses as far as I can tell.


Anyone have any ideas? Thx in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 09:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

there was a kb about it, something about making the next updates easier or such. had issues on one machine after applying that one

try to manually dl one or two if it still doesnt want to do it, then get the discs, then apply sp1, then update again, then take out all the ibm software
that come from the discs
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 09:48 PM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default

thanks, downloading the kb thats supposed to fix this.


will update later to let everyone know how it works out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 26, 2011, 09:54 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,372

My System Specs

Default

is windows update set to automatic in services?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 08:35 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,904

My System Specs

Default

And for others, the KB you want is called "System Update Readiness Tool" and you'll want the most recent one. As of now, the latest is Feburary 2011.

If you have issues installing SP1, I strongly recommend running it as well. It fixed one of the computers in my house.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 09:24 AM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Fallen Folder
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,418

My System Specs

Default

Make sure the date is correct.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 03:26 PM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
And for others, the KB you want is called "System Update Readiness Tool" and you'll want the most recent one. As of now, the latest is Feburary 2011.

If you have issues installing SP1, I strongly recommend running it as well. It fixed one of the computers in my house.
System readiness tool wont install, all I get is an error 938001.


Didn't find anything on google that was helpful.


Probably going to do a repair install on this.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2011, 10:33 PM
"Quote This..."
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,831
Default

I had the same issue with a clients computer on friday. Spent 4 hours trying to solve it, got the same message as you with the readiness tool. I grabbed a copy of the new win7 sp1 release off technet and will try a repair using that tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just Cause 2 Wont install dragoonxx Gaming 11 February 17, 2011 05:29 PM
new install of Vista 64 wont defrag and reports damage PUBZOMBIE O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 January 14, 2010 10:47 AM
OS XP or WIN 7 wont install magictorch Troubleshooting 7 May 10, 2009 01:33 PM
Help - Vista 64 on RAID 10 wont install catnhat Troubleshooting 3 November 2, 2008 12:32 PM
Need Help!!! Vista wont Install! CMetaphor O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 May 18, 2007 07:25 AM