Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old May 23, 2008, 10:17 PM
DK2 DK2 is offline
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GTA
Posts: 821
Default

I use McAfee, its a virus unto itself
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2008, 12:12 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,979

My System Specs

Default

I don't use any.
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2008, 07:46 AM
kingnubian's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 305
Default

Nod32 for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2008, 09:32 AM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,248

My System Specs

Default

Been useing AVG PRO 8 the last few months, a little bloated IMO.
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old May 24, 2008, 09:36 AM
no_pulse's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario
Posts: 389
Default

I've read a few reviews where BitDefender has been rated the best. I'm currently using AVAST and might switch to BitDefender when I install my new system.

Anti-Virus Software Review 2008 Don't know how reliable this site is.
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2008, 05:09 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Talking

My AVG 7 whatever free poped up to be done at the end of this month.
I have since tried the 8 point whatever and after configuring to disable the link scanner on install it is pretty good but many are reporting the new AVG to be a pain though I must eat crow.
If you take the time to install it with the run command per the AVG website it is much better.
No slowdowns as previous with it
Why they did this to a good program is beyond belief.
But thats progress.
The red drop down hideable nag screen is a joy to.
Even if you hide it comes back unless you .bak a couple files.
AVG 8 whatever for awhile was reporting false positives on Spywareblaster's entries an excellent kill bit proggy.
Finally I believe AVG released a patch inclusive on an update to correct the issue.
That issue doesn't show up anymore.
If one doesn't want the hassle of the new AVG 8 whatever till its bugs worked out if it ever are.... I'd go Avast.
You can use the same licence key on a couple computers for/in home use.

Sidenote: I also tried PC tools free av on Vista 32 but I wasn't impressed its uninstaller at that time was S***.
Maybe its better now.
On XP its okay.
Anti vir on Vista ran okay too.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9



Last edited by tyreman; May 25, 2008 at 05:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2008, 08:16 AM
Jack Rabbit's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 784

My System Specs

Default

I just put AVG 8 on my computer and it seems to be causing shell lock ups.

I am not really happy with the bloat.

The link scanner is EVIL! Why would I want them to harvest information on all my browsing?

This computer is in desperate need of an OS reinstall but I have been too lazy to do it. This might just put me over the edge.
__________________
He either fears his fate too much, or his deserts are small, that dares not put it to the touch, to gain or lose it all.
- James Graham
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old May 25, 2008, 07:21 PM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

AVAST, for the last 4 years, use online scanners every now and then to double check. No virus so far and hoping it stays that way.
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2008, 03:08 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by TopDogZero View Post
AVAST, for the last 4 years, use online scanners every now and then to double check. No virus so far and hoping it stays that way.

Avast is a good AV.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #70 (permalink)  
Old May 26, 2008, 10:07 PM
Dashock's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,938
Default

Mcafee all the way ma comp was bugged with a virus that would randomly shut off my computer it took it righht outt let me tell yea lol if yu want a hooker of yer shoes its the only spray i use!!!! DASHOCK RECOMMENDED!!!
__________________
Intel Xeon E3110 @ 3.0ghz
XFX 8800 GT Alpha Dog Edition
Asus P5Q-E
Mushkin Ascent Redline 8000 4gb DDR2 @ 1066 5-5-5-15 2.05v
OCZ 600W GameXstream
Seagate 7200.11 500gb
Seagate 7200.10 320gb
Antec Spot Cool
Logitech X-230
Samsung 32" 720P HDTV



Coolermaster Cosmos S/
Swiftech Mcp655/ MCR-320-QP/ 6X Noctua NF-P12'S/ Swiftech Apogee GT/ Swiftech Mcw-60/ Swiftech Micro-Res.

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top 10 Virus Alerts Supergrover O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 July 3, 2008 10:35 AM
Anti Static Devices? tgraszat14 Troubleshooting 18 February 6, 2008 06:14 PM
Kaspersky Anti-Virus 7.0 - $15 @ Futureshop (Today only) Jmac O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 December 20, 2007 08:45 PM
My Favourite Anti Malware Tools clickright O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 May 13, 2007 05:59 PM
eTrust Anti-Virus any good? Gav O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 March 19, 2007 09:41 PM