Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 06:31 AM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,097

My System Specs

Default Win.7 Service Pack. ??

Anybody loaded this yet? What's new in it? Any issues to report? I'm not so sure this pack is needed. Is it?
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 06:48 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

well i have been running it since yesterday on 2 machines to test and no problems what so every yet on them didn't really have the time to look through to see what was there just ran with it.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 07:55 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

have it since last week ( technet) don't notice any difference on 6 PCs with W7 , but I do notice something my experience index was at 7,8 for the Graphic and now it drop to 7,7 on my gaming PC, don'T check yet other PCs , also it take forever on windows 2008 r2 to install.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 10:04 AM
aristhrottle's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 163
Default

From what I read it's a bunch of minor fixes - audio over HDMI, as well as some security patches. I was a bit confused too: to me a Service Pack means some sort of change in functionality (cf. the XP Service Packs).

Anyways, I have W7 SP1 running on two machines and one netbook - haven't noticed any problems, or anything at all really. I do remember reading that getting the Service Pack is not at all necessary, unlike say Vista SP1 which you needed to get to run Office 2010.
__________________
"CFL receiver Sylvain Girard announced his retirement today. His party will be held at The Keg, right after he and some other players finish their shifts there." - Air Farce
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 10:10 AM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Ive been using SP1 for a month or so. Gives a nice boost with SB as it enables AVX
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 01:39 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

It won't install for me. Guess when I vLited my installation I took out something SP1 requires.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 02:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,227

My System Specs

Default

Heh Windows Update says the install is only 73.6MB? I was expecting ~300MB for a service pack at least.
I'll install it tonight, provided Windows doesn't automatically do it without notice before I get to it.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 02:28 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,068

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
Heh Windows Update says the install is only 73.6MB? I was expecting ~300MB for a service pack at least.
I'll install it tonight, provided Windows doesn't automatically do it without notice before I get to it.
The download is about 1GB in size.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 02:41 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

I like to wait on these things for a little bit and see if anything gets broken.

That being said, this SP seems pretty tame for the most part (probably because W7 is a service pack in my eyes....)
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 23, 2011, 03:04 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
It won't install for me. Guess when I vLited my installation I took out something SP1 requires.
Microsoft update servers were down a lot today, might be why. I had several installs fail on all my machines running 7, only 1 has actually updated sucessfully. If you took out the preparation update that is required for SP1, Windows prompts you to download it automatically.

EDIT:
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisk View Post
I like to wait on these things for a little bit and see if anything gets broken.

That being said, this SP seems pretty tame for the most part (probably because W7 is a service pack in my eyes....)
Agreed, but I always made an exception for Windows. Remember the Filipino script kiddie that wreaked havoc on XP systems several years back? Well the loophole he exploited was fixed on the previous patch Tuesday.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Service Pack 1 Slated for July FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 9 June 10, 2010 08:54 AM
Windows 7 Service Pack 1 Rumoured for Q3 2010 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 16 November 8, 2009 03:06 AM
Microsoft Windows XP Service Pack 3 Final Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 1 April 24, 2008 06:23 PM
Service pack 3 coming Gamashinoch O/S's, Drivers & General Software 17 September 14, 2007 11:23 AM
Microsoft: Vista service pack coming in '08 Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 1 August 29, 2007 06:44 PM