Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2011, 11:38 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default Strange boot up??

I have an older AMD 3500+ system running Win XP Pro (SP3) and recently I have been having a problem when booting up. Everything seems fine through the post but then after the POSt screen disappears Win XP usually starts instantly. Lately though the WinXP splash screen doesn't appear after post for a full 3 minutes? I'm running a raid stripe configuration and have never had any issues. The time to fully boot up after the splash screen appears hasn't changed much but the 3 minutes after post to WinXP splash screen is something new. I've run my virus program (Bit Defender) and have not found a thing. Could anybody help me find the cause?
Thanks
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2011, 12:01 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,566

My System Specs

Default

First guess would be BIOS settings got changed, but that wouldn't explain a full 3 minutes, the stall for incorrect boot settings shouldn't last longer than a minute or two at most. But just check to make sure your boot settings are correct.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2011, 12:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thanks for the reply. I checked the bios and settings were correct but I changed boot settings then back to what they were to see if there was any difference. No difference. It's kind of odd but I shut the power off after the post when the XP splash screen should have appeared and after restart it asked me to start in safe mode or normally so I think windows is starting but hanging just before the splash screen??? I don't really want to format the machine but..........I wonder if it isn't windows, maybe a bios update will help?
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2011, 01:56 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

check your drives? :)
or os needs a fresh loading. but im thinking drives/cables. something in those lines.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 19, 2011, 02:19 PM
KaptCrunch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,922
Default

also check cmos battery is good, may not be keeping boot data hench long boot time, has to reconfigure every time booted
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 07:24 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thanks. All that seems to check out but I think I've found the issue. I don't know if I can fix it without an OS re-install though. When I boot up in safe mode the scroll of files on the screen stops at windows\system32\drivers\MUP.sys and stays there for the same 3 minutes as it does in a normal start up. I tried running chkdsk/p/r in the repair console but it reports that the repair is not possible or words to that effect. After boot up the system seems to run fine so I don't know how this driver affects the system. I have a little research to do.
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 08:01 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Thanks for all the suggestions and help.
Well I found the hang issue and fixed it. It would appear that a USB card reader/floppy drive combo that has been in the computer since I built it was the problem. I was having an intermittent problem with one sections of the reader that reads SD cards but I just thought it was a mechanical issue. Anyway I unplugged the card reader portion of the floppy drive and it boots normally now. As a precaution I booted up with the XP disc and entered the repair console and ran chkdsk again. It still comes up with the message "VOLUME APPEARS TO CONTAIN ONE OR MORE UNRECOVERABLE PROBLEMS" ?? The system seems fine though? Any thoughts anyone?
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 05:37 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

Try sfc /scannow in command prompt. You'll need an XP disc.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 20, 2011, 06:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by clone63 View Post
Try sfc /scannow in command prompt. You'll need an XP disc.
Do I do this the same way as chkdsk in the recovery console?
Thanks
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 21, 2011, 07:31 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ontario/Transplant from California
Posts: 101
Default

Ok I read about sfc /scannow and I run it within windows but I have a question. The prompt says that scannow will check to see that all windows system files are there and IN THERE ORIGINAL VERSIONS. Does this mean that I will have to install the service packs again?
Thanks
Jim
__________________
ASUS P7P55D-E Pro - Intel i7 860 - Zalman CNPS 10X Quiet - 4gb G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1333 CL7-7-7-21 1.5V - Intel 520 Series 240 GB SSD - WD Caviar Black 1Tb - Corsair TX750W - Sapphire Radeon HD 5770 1 Gb GDDR5 - DVD Drives X2 LG GH24LS50 - Coolermaster CM690 II Advanced - Win 7 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange problem Charmster Troubleshooting 7 July 3, 2010 06:13 AM
Reboot and select proper boot device or insert boot media in selected boot device BrianHanna Troubleshooting 44 February 11, 2010 01:13 PM
strange google CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 March 1, 2009 12:41 AM
My Boot settings (Bootsect.bak/Boot directory) installed to another HDD? chouchou Troubleshooting 7 December 21, 2008 07:46 PM