Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #61 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 11:20 AM
reaverclan's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: USA,CA
Posts: 435

My System Specs

Default

saw this thread yesturday installed patch and at 1440x900(my native), on dx9 all high i get 48fps usually and like 65 in rooms:) i can finally beat he game now lol EDIT thats on vsita x64 ultimate
Reply With Quote
  #62 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 12:16 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vintank View Post
I can definately do that, what programs do I need to run benchmarks?
will let ya know when I get it fully setup. will that mean I have to install Crysis twice right, once for XP and the once for Vista?
Cool! I think Mars is planning on doing this as well when he gets his hardware all upgraded. But the more the merrier :)

I'm pretty sure you will need to install Crysis on both OS's. You don't have to get any specific benchmark programs unless you want to go deeper than the time demo GPU benchmark that comes with Crysis. I think for now the time demo will do. Some things to think about for the benchmark...

1. Whatever your settings are in-game (or whatever tweaks you have done to cfg files) is what the GPU benchmark uses. So make sure they are the same on both OS's. (i.e Use High on both at same resolution).
2. It would be nice if you could do benches for both Crysis 1.0 and the 1.1 patch. So don't update it right away. But it's up to you this is just a suggestion for comparison's sake to monitor any performance improvements (or lack thereof) between the two versions.
3. If you have any background processes going like antivirus etc... disable them for the tests on both OS's.
4. For optimal performance make sure you defrag after install (just a suggestion).
5. You may want to run the time demo a couple times on each OS just to be sure you are getting consistent numbers.

Sorry if this is all obvious I just wanted to throw it out there just in case. There is a whole bunch of other stuff to like using fresh installs etc... but I don't want this to sound like a term project. Thanks for playing! We are looking forward to your results ;)

Cheers
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #63 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2008, 12:18 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by reaverclan View Post
saw this thread yesturday installed patch and at 1440x900(my native), on dx9 all high i get 48fps usually and like 65 in rooms:) i can finally beat he game now lol EDIT thats on vsita x64 ultimate
I see you have XP and Vista. Wanna do some benches on both?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #64 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2008, 10:03 AM
vintank's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 117

My System Specs

Default

okay have vista installed and crysis on both xp partition and vista partition the game isn't patched, but am looking for the time demo where do you find that or get it haha
__________________
DK P35-T2RS / E6750 / Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 x 4 / Thermalright Ultra 120 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Antec 900/ GameXstream 600w

EVGA X58 Classified 3 SLI / i7 920 D0 / Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 2gb x 6 / Noctua NH-D14 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Corsair Obsidian 800D / Seasonic M12D 850w

Last edited by vintank; January 29, 2008 at 10:50 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #65 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2008, 11:34 PM
vintank's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 117

My System Specs

Default

okay I am not going to be able to do the tests as all night I have been getting random blue screens and not sure why, memtest shows all ram good, hdd's all check out, set everything to stock and its still happening so formated all but one hard drives and have just installed Vista64bit so we will see how it goes.
__________________
DK P35-T2RS / E6750 / Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 x 4 / Thermalright Ultra 120 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Antec 900/ GameXstream 600w

EVGA X58 Classified 3 SLI / i7 920 D0 / Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 2gb x 6 / Noctua NH-D14 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Corsair Obsidian 800D / Seasonic M12D 850w
Reply With Quote
  #66 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 09:21 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by vintank View Post
okay I am not going to be able to do the tests as all night I have been getting random blue screens and not sure why, memtest shows all ram good, hdd's all check out, set everything to stock and its still happening so formated all but one hard drives and have just installed Vista64bit so we will see how it goes.
Yikes that sucks sorry to hear that. These BSODs just started happening? Is this a new setup you have?
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #67 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 10:34 AM
vintank's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 117

My System Specs

Default

yeah just started happening out of the blue, and yes its a new setup about 2 weeks old, took out 2 ram chips and so far no more BSOD, also reformatted all the hdds, when I get home from class going to put the other two ram chips back in and see what happens. it was weird it would BSOD when trying to transfer files from 1 hdd to another and it didn't matter which one, I have 4 hdds in total, also stopped the overclock as well (even though it was 15 hours stable with orthos)
__________________
DK P35-T2RS / E6750 / Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 x 4 / Thermalright Ultra 120 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Antec 900/ GameXstream 600w

EVGA X58 Classified 3 SLI / i7 920 D0 / Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 2gb x 6 / Noctua NH-D14 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Corsair Obsidian 800D / Seasonic M12D 850w
Reply With Quote
  #68 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 10:43 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,525

My System Specs

Default

Ya I had a similar problem on my Mac G5 a couple weeks ago. Just out of the blue *BAM* the equivalent of a BSOD within 1-2 minutes of booting up. If the machine managed to stay up then the fans were screaming at me with a vengeance. Turns out one of the Ram chips must have not been seated quite right and got loose. Cuz I did the same as you, took the ram out, then I tested each one at a time, all was fine, so I put em all back in and no more crashes.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #69 (permalink)  
Old January 30, 2008, 02:41 PM
vintank's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Brandon, Manitoba Canada
Posts: 117

My System Specs

Default

yeah thats what I am hoping still testing stuff on my computer though hehe, like having a 2nd to use once in awhile
__________________
DK P35-T2RS / E6750 / Crucial Ballistix PC2-8500 x 4 / Thermalright Ultra 120 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Antec 900/ GameXstream 600w

EVGA X58 Classified 3 SLI / i7 920 D0 / Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 2gb x 6 / Noctua NH-D14 / BFG 260 Maxcore / Corsair Obsidian 800D / Seasonic M12D 850w
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes