Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 01:12 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default Tweaking Xp on an old PC

Hi, a friend of mine ask me to install a windows XP on an old computer for his Dad, they do not have money to spent on it, the pc is an Athlon something with 256 mb of ram, so itís gone be real slow, especially if I install sp3. So here the question, do you have tricks to make this dinosaur useable for internet browsing and play solitaire. Just as info I want to sell him a PIV 4 ghz I have with 1 gb for $ 60 and itís too much for themÖ. So install more memory will be a no go too.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 01:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by botat29 View Post
Hi, a friend of mine ask me to install a windows XP on an old computer for his Dad, they do not have money to spent on it, the pc is an Athlon something with 256 mb of ram, so itís gone be real slow, especially if I install sp3. So here the question, do you have tricks to make this dinosaur useable for internet browsing and play solitaire. Just as info I want to sell him a PIV 4 ghz I have with 1 gb for $ 60 and itís too much for themÖ. So install more memory will be a no go too.
Spend the $60 and drop a gb of memory into it and that machine will run a lot better than 256
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 01:41 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

thanks enaberif ...but that's the point ; they don't have $ 60 to spend on it.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 01:46 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

just run tiny xp if you can find it or even better run ubuntu 9/10 both work great for basics. my2cents
VVV he's right about that.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 01:46 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Well unfortunately without spending money on that machine you are gonna be really hurting with that machine. Being that its XP and only 256mb of memory that machine will be swapping out to the hard drive so bad that it'll really kill and slow down the machine.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 02:01 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 299

My System Specs

Default

you could lower the resolution and color scheme, 16 colors for the win


make sure no programs run in the backround like antivirus, keep it as basic as possible
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 02:13 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

right click on my computer,properties, advanced, settings, best performance.
,ok,ok

then disable that pathetic excuse of prefetch

then open up services.msc and go barbarian on what they wont need, like wireless and so on.

ccleaner its arse, remove all startup items, the works
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 02:41 PM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
........ like wireless and so on.
holy..... they have a wireless adaptor... why it's always me who have those garbages....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 02:47 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by _dangtx_ View Post
right click on my computer,properties, advanced, settings, best performance.
,ok,ok

then disable that pathetic excuse of prefetch

then open up services.msc and go barbarian on what they wont need, like wireless and so on.

ccleaner its arse, remove all startup items, the works
Windows XP .. Prefetch? Doesn't exist.

Prefetch came with Vista and up.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 26, 2011, 03:16 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

lol, then dont disable that



Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Windows XP .. Prefetch? Doesn't exist.

Prefetch came with Vista and up.
whatever the equivalent of that is. its useless.

tweak xp or tune xp should prove eventful as utilities :)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
gpu voltage tweaking.. gon_freecs Troubleshooting 3 February 1, 2011 08:01 AM
essential tools for computer tweaking Maculosa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 February 25, 2009 07:06 PM
OC Tweaking Spreadsheet misterlarry Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 September 3, 2008 05:44 PM
Tweaking Task Manager Prof. Dr. Silver Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 8 February 6, 2008 11:13 PM