Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 07:01 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default Steam install folder

Hi guys! Just done installing my new SSD with a clean windows. Now that I am in the rush of re-installing all my software I got a little issue with steam. Since I don't want to max out my SSD in less than a minut, I installed it on my D drive, with ALL my other software but windows which is on C. But everytime I lunch steam, I got this error :
Steam.exe ( main exception ): ERROR: deleted Steam.exe but the file is still there.

Can I install steam on another drive than C or I am forced to screw my SSD space?

Thx for reply!
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 07:40 AM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Perhaps something out of: steam install on different drive can help you?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 08:30 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Martin your best bet is to install Steam like normal onto C: and then use a program like what is in the other thread to move the installs to another drive. I know that is what I do. This way I still have a couple games that I use the most on the SSD while the rest are on a WD 1TB Black. I use Steam Mover - traynier.com myself.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 09:01 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Thx guy Ičll give it a try and see if it work ;)
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 03:34 PM
Patramix's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: between Montreal and Sherbrooke
Posts: 216

My System Specs

Default

what i did was install steam on the C(ssd) drive, and F(raid) then deleted the ssd steam folder, and just pointed the short cut to the f drive, and never had problems. to be honest the install on the C drive was an error lol, none the less it worked fine for me.
__________________
All of life is forged from Hell, Yet from its beauty our legacy began.

My Boinc Stats
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 24, 2011, 10:21 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

No love for me here...still get the same error...will have to do further troubleshooting later -_-Thx guys
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2011, 03:58 AM
spikexp's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 94

My System Specs

Default

Download steam on the site (steam) and reinstall it over your current installation.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2011, 04:46 AM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

already done still got the same error of a folder that I don't have acces...even if I install it inside a folder where I know I have 100% acess. But well, it's not like I was a big gamer XD
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2011, 06:33 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

That's a very common issue with installing Steam under Windows 7. Doesn't matter that you aren't using C: actually.

If you look on the Steam forums I believe there's some instructions on how to make it work.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old January 25, 2011, 06:35 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Acton, Ont
Posts: 878
Default

Have you tryed running it in Admin mode?

I just did the same thing, Cut and paisted steam to my 2nd drive, Opened the folder, Copyed EXE file to desk top, Opened.

As for the games, In steam you need to re-cache the game.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
steam install on different drive jtf2 Gaming 18 January 25, 2011 10:57 PM
Low Consumption Folder OR Part time POWER Folder ilya New Builds 3 May 16, 2010 03:33 PM
Folder down redwagon HardwareCanucks F@H Team 2 October 2, 2009 12:35 PM
L4D/steam install prob cmac79 Gaming 10 January 21, 2009 01:10 PM
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 02:05 AM