Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 02:07 PM
DRYJESUS's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 74
Default Problems loading most internet sites on all browsers

Hey guys,
For a few weeks I have had problems loading SOME internet sites. They either don't load, or it takes ages (10-20 minutes) and even after that they don't load correctly. This is the same for IE, Firefox and Safari. Sometimes Firefox can load more websites that the others, but it's usually random. Sometimes Facebook works perfectly fine, but sometimes it won't load at all, or will show a really bad... sort of... text only version.
I've tried using Hijackthis and deleted some suspicious looking stuff, but it's still the same. My sisters computer which is connected to the same router isn't having problems.
I've tried booting in Safe Mode with Networking, and the problem still consists.

All of my other programs seem to work fine though, such as MSN, and some video streaming programs that I have. Any help would be great.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 02:14 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,097

My System Specs

Default

What is yuor System spec ?
Update Driver fore internet card ?
Check Fore Virusres ? Adware ? Trojans ?
What OS and internet card ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 02:17 PM
DRYJESUS's Avatar
Restricted Poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
What is yuor System spec ?
Update Driver fore internet card ?
Check Fore Virusres ? Adware ? Trojans ?
What OS and internet card ?
This is actually for my friend, so I don't know the system specs. I do know that she has Windows XP though. Honestly, I don't know if updating the network card would do anything. It's been working for years, until last week. This is a really old machine, I'm not even sure if there are updates being made for any of the components anymore. Which anti-virus, etc. do you recommend for me to scan with?
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 02:22 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

avg or avast or ms are all good you can run them all good luck if the computer is running fine besides the web i would lean towards a virus for sure. gb 2 cents and i need change he he
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 02:25 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,097

My System Specs

Default

AVG 2011 FRee ( C Net FORE down load )
Spy Bot Search and Destoy ( C net )
Microsoft Securty Esencials

Up Date XP if its Leagal copy to Service pack 3
Up Internet Explorer To (8 )
Look fore Drivers
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 02:43 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

I would actually be interested in how much RAM the system has, I personally noticed that after a very recent patch, XP has been hogging a lot more RAM than it used to. It proved to be a big issue using Firefox/Chrome/IE8, as the pages wouldn't load until after the page file was written to.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 02:45 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

try a live cd with ubuntu or pcos or something. same issue? its hardware or modem/line related or something :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 02:46 PM
chubaka's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Van
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default

have you check the processes and services under task manager when you try loading websites?
Are there any suspicious tasks?
Try killing them and see if it works.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 02:51 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Try changing the DNS settings of the computer:
OpenDNS | Internet Navigation And Security
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 19, 2010, 04:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,570

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
Try changing the DNS settings of the computer:
OpenDNS | Internet Navigation And Security
Ninja'd!!!!!

I second the suggestion that you should probably be looking for a DNS issue.

Aside from that... removing and re-installing the network card should re-install the stack which might solve the issue as well.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
blocked Internet sites Gellidius O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 August 24, 2009 03:41 PM
Microsoft Looks To Offer Multiple Browsers in European Versions of Windows 7 FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 11 July 27, 2009 03:15 PM
windows not loading???? Cadence Troubleshooting 2 January 18, 2009 10:58 PM
Help with CoD5 not loading maps D4ng3r Gaming 9 January 6, 2009 03:04 PM
Internet problems Lpfan4ever Troubleshooting 9 December 20, 2008 09:33 PM