Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 11:22 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default Can anyone add to my CUDA or GPU accelerated or multi-core or 64bit Apps list?

I was thinking that most of us on the forums here are pretty much wasting allot of what our Computers power So I decided to do some searching around for a list of software that uses Cuda and or is multi core and or 64bit supported. the only ones I have found so far are these;
CUDA/GPU Acceleration:
Elcomsoft Wireless Security Auditor
ElcomSoft Distributed Password Recovery
Elcomsoft Lightning Hash Cracker
Elcomsoft Phone Password Breaker
CoreAVC (paid GPU accelerated video codec decoder)
badaboom media converter
Freemake Video Converter or silent by Acen2006 (free)
Imagemagick
TMPGEnc 4.0 XPress
Adobe Photoshop CS5 - Possibly more of the CS5 suite.

Multi-core support:
7-zip using LZMA2. Though extra threads sacrifice compression ratio per thread over 2 (free)
I think WinRAR, but it's compression algorithm is a bit stale. Even in the x64 field, it still sucks where 7zip allows for improvement.
Avisynth - It supports multithread for these intense video rendering tasks. (free)
HandBrake - video encoder/converter (free)
ConvertXtoDVD - converts video files to dvd format.
Fractalus- is a freeware truecolor highresolution fractalgenerator for 32-bit and 64-bit Windows (Windows xp, Windows Vista & Windows 7).

I used Mozilla to build there newest FF based web browser called Mine field which if you go into the about:config you can turn on the GPU so that it uses your vid card juice .
on my other PC I have downloaded the FF 64bit browser called Namoroka and I have to say that this thing is pretty fast for a ff based browser the only thing I had to do was go to adobe and download the beta Flash Player "Square" to have flash this works perfectly.

Can anyone add to this list ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 11:45 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,836
Default

One of my favs:

MediaCoder - more than a universal audio/video transcoder - MediaCoder official website

Media Coder is one of the better transcoding programs out there and now comes CUDA-enabled.


Cyberlink's MediaEspresso is CUDA and AMD Stream Compute ready:

MediaEspresso 6 - the Fastest Universal Media Converter
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 11:52 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

7zip has a 64bit exe as well which I prefer over WinRAR
Download 7-Zip from SourceForge.net
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 01:20 PM
Synth's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Ottawa-Hull
Posts: 688
Default

Adobe Premiere CS5 Pro supports CUDA (Mercury Engine) and multicore.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 10, 2010, 01:54 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
One of my favs:

MediaCoder - more than a universal audio/video transcoder - MediaCoder official website

Media Coder is one of the better transcoding programs out there and now comes CUDA-enabled.


Cyberlink's MediaEspresso is CUDA and AMD Stream Compute ready:

MediaEspresso 6 - the Fastest Universal Media Converter
I didn't realize this used Cuda Cool Thanx

[
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2010, 08:55 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,082

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SKYMTL View Post
One of my favs:

MediaCoder - more than a universal audio/video transcoder - MediaCoder official website

Media Coder is one of the better transcoding programs out there and now comes CUDA-enabled.
Umm, Sky, I grabbed MediaCoder since I like the idea of it using my GPU, and have installed it. Now I fire it up and it is in Chinese (I think), have you seen this before?

edit: Nevermind I have found how to change it to English. If anyone else has this issue here is how to fix it:
Quote:
Click on the settings icon (one that looks like a gear), pick the 2nd option in the first combo box and close the dialog window. Click on left one button when prompt pops up to restart mediacoder in english.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."



Last edited by ipaine; December 13, 2010 at 09:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 03:56 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,743

My System Specs

Default

"CUDA is not supported on current system. Please download and use non-CUDA version."

...So.. GTX 460 is a no-go for CUDA? What the hell MediaCoder?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 05:33 AM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,396
Default

Going by your specs it looks like you got 768GB 460s. That might your problem as I thought you need a min of 1GB card for cuda to "work"....at least that is what is recommended for the adobe hack that makes adobe think you have a high end NV workstation GPU and not their "cheaper" consumer cards (ie get mercury hardware acceleration to work with the GTX line). ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 DirectCompute Brings GPU Accelerated Applications With NVIDIA GPUs FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 October 22, 2009 11:20 AM
NVIDIA Officially Unveils Next Generation CUDA GPU Architecture - Codenamed "Fermi" FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 October 1, 2009 11:35 AM
Quadro fx770m Cuda enabled byt GPU clinet wont run Putz HardwareCanucks F@H Team 1 September 11, 2009 09:07 AM
Slackware 64bit + Core i7 SEVEN O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 July 21, 2009 05:11 PM
Multi GPU folding - need help Apollo4g HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 July 17, 2009 12:13 PM