Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 05:38 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default Custom install on USD Drive Win 7

Hi,

Back in the Vista days, I remember being able to make a bootable USB from a fresh install of vista. What I mean is, I would do a Vista install from the Disk, then get all the updates from Microsoft + install all the drivers. When I was happy with it, I could make a Bootable iso from it. So when I wanted to do a fresh install I would only have to re-boot form the usb.

I think it had to do whit vista light, But I am not sure. Does something like that exist ? If so my google skills are not good enough, can someone halp me ?
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 06:08 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,984

My System Specs

Default

vlite works with windows 7, although not officially, it works. You can use it to build your own ISO of windows including updates, drivers, etc..

www.vlite.net/

__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 07:13 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

I would strongly advise against using vLite on Windows 7.

Take a look at legolash2o's Windows 7 Toolkit: Windows 7 Toolkit v0.8.0 Final - WinCert.net Forums
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 09:12 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,955

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JD View Post
I would strongly advise against using vLite on Windows 7.

Take a look at legolash2o's Windows 7 Toolkit: Windows 7 Toolkit v0.8.0 Final - WinCert.net Forums
What does this do differently than vlite? I've used vlite dozens of times w/ Windows 7 successfully.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 8, 2010, 12:23 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,894

My System Specs

Default

It just uses the latest tools that are made for Windows 7, such as DSIM. It can also download all the updates for you and integrate programs.

I don't actually really use it myself as I do things manually in most cases. All I do is integrate updates and run a batch file that launches a bunch of program installs off my server. Otherwise it's a fair stock Windows 7 install without anything removed. That way there's less worry of random problems arising from removing something, or not being able to install certain updates/service packs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 7 Install hangs at Expanding files NineLives Troubleshooting 3 July 6, 2010 09:01 AM
Win 7 install pooched the lan 3 of 7 Networking 1 October 18, 2009 09:42 AM
OS XP or WIN 7 wont install magictorch Troubleshooting 7 May 10, 2009 01:33 PM
properly install win xp sp3 pro CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 August 26, 2008 10:53 PM
First custom system, hd error Can't install Xp or vista zffarooq Troubleshooting 2 November 3, 2007 01:26 PM