Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2010, 11:38 PM
feerof's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 174

My System Specs

Default Mac OSX with VMware on win7? possible?

ADDED QUESTION(s) (16/12/2010)

Can you setup a VM with Mac OSX (on a compatible computer with a primary OS as win7)? I've done the dual boot before, but I found it super troublesome to dual boot and having to set the mobo to AHCI ... I kinda just like to press my computer power button and just let the thing boot up (I even hate putting in a password, but since I use windows live mesh, i have to use a password)

PREVIOUS QUESTIONS

-- 6/12/2010
I know this is a kind of silly question, but what's the difference between using a server edition of windows instead of just using a regular edition and just configure the computer as a server?

I'm quite lost in this whole server fiesta because I have no need of having one, but could someone enlighten me?

--
__________________
Bob Saget.

Last edited by feerof; December 16, 2010 at 07:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 12:03 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Lots, unless if your talking about just simple stuff like webhosting, then not much, you could just use any OS for that type of work. Outside of simple webhosting there are MANY diffrences but the biggest diffrence that pops into my mind is Active Directory, Domain support.

Pretty much, 99% of consumers have no use for server versions of Windows, and that 1% that do, only require it for home lab for self training.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 05:08 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 744

My System Specs

Default

There is also the cost difference. I wouldn't bother with Server edition, either run linux or a WHS if you need more "server" functions or just stick with the pro version of regular windows kernel.
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 07:23 AM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

Pro versions of windows fall short depending on your circumstances.

file sharing: limited number of connections to file shares versus windows servers
active directory security: requires windows server
web hosting: again, limited number of concurrent connections versus windows servers

all in all... you pretty much answered your own question by stating you don't need a windows server in the first place. Microsoft has some good Windows Small Business Server 2008 marketing material that is easy on the eyes if you want to look more in-depth.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 08:48 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

W7 Pro (and I think for Home Premium too) allows a maximum 20 concurrent connections, so for home/soho environments you should have no problem using it as a server if the need arises.
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 01:46 PM
feerof's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 174

My System Specs

Default

oh.. i see... I guess i'll have to see where i can apply this new knowledge, thanks guys!
__________________
Bob Saget.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 7, 2010, 02:01 PM
kendallcschm's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: United States
Posts: 465

My System Specs

Default

you can use Linux Ubuntu and it comes with almost all the things you need for filesharing and web hosting.. and if you need any abilities you can just install them from command line... im running 3 servers off ubuntu server edition
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 13, 2010, 05:41 PM
feerof's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 174

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kendallcschm View Post
you can use Linux Ubuntu and it comes with almost all the things you need for filesharing and web hosting.. and if you need any abilities you can just install them from command line... im running 3 servers off ubuntu server edition
wow... i'm actually very noobie with linux... sadly. I might dual boot linux and win7 on my PC when i get another hard drive just to learn about linux and its uses.
__________________
Bob Saget.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 08:56 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

If you want to play around with linux, using VirtualBox to setup a linux VM is way better (and safer) than dual booting, e.g.:

How to Install Ubuntu on VirtualBox - wikiHow
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 14, 2010, 11:23 PM
feerof's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 174

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DCCV44.2223 View Post
If you want to play around with linux, using VirtualBox to setup a linux VM is way better (and safer) than dual booting, e.g.:

How to Install Ubuntu on VirtualBox - wikiHow
sweeeeett i've been trying to look for VM software in the past but the stuff i found with a quick google search required money thanks for the handy link!
__________________
Bob Saget.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Logitech Control Center for Mac OSX 10.6.x (snow leopard) nige O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 November 5, 2009 08:05 PM
Apple Mac OSX 10.6 Snow Leopard out in September 2009 niallm1dotcom O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 June 25, 2009 06:20 PM
[WTB] Looking for a Mac mini with OSX 10.5 yamawho Buy/Sell & Trade 6 June 6, 2009 06:14 AM
has anyone installed OSX on a non-Mac laptop? Mr. Friendly Mobile Computing 3 April 19, 2008 12:21 PM