Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 12:36 PM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,034

My System Specs

Default OK to install 2+ A.V. Programs?

Title pretty much says it. With Win. 7,Can you have two or three Anti Virus loaded on your Comp.? Will there be conflicts? I don't mean scanning at the same time, I mean installed and activated. Will Windows 7 allow this? Thanks for any help.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 12:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,223

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slik View Post
Can you have two or three Anti Virus loaded on your Comp.?
Will there be conflicts?
I don't mean scanning at the same time, I mean installed and activated. Will Windows 7 allow this?
Thanks for any help.
In the order of your questions:
It's been done but it's very much not recommended
Most likely
It's probably possible but I wouldn't try it

I had enough issues when Windows Defender and Norton tried to have their services active at the same time, to the point where I disable Windows Defender's service and Windows Firewall if I use a third-party AV. I think most security software say on their own web page not to run multiple antivirus at the same time, and for good reason. Depending on how they integrate with Windows, the AVs may conflict with each other, not to mention hit you with quite a performance penalty if it happens to work.

Why would you want to run a combination of antivirus anyway?
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 12:47 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,255
Default

TBH, yes you can run multiple AVs but most users do not need to do it.
You are much better off running ONE AV (nod32, kasper, MSE, avira, etc) and ONE AM/AS program such as malwarebytes (paid FULL version). then 2 AV and no anti-malware/anti-spyware programs. :)

I personally use Avira + malwarebytes on some systems. On others I use nod32 + malwarebytes, and on one system I run a copy of windows INSIDE a sandbox (vmware) for when Im doing "interesting" things. ;)
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 12:51 PM
Slik's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sault Ste Marie On.
Posts: 1,034

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
In the order of your questions:
It's been done but it's very much not recommended
Most likely
It's probably possible but I wouldn't try it

I had enough issues when Windows Defender and Norton tried to have their services active at the same time, to the point where I disable Windows Defender's service and Windows Firewall if I use a third-party AV. I think most security software say on their own web page not to run multiple antivirus at the same time, and for good reason. Depending on how they integrate with Windows, the AVs may conflict with each other, not to mention hit you with quite a performance penalty if it happens to work.

Why would you want to run a combination of antivirus anyway?
Thanks for the quick response. I thought Win. 7 would be ok with it. I wanted more than one, thinking that if A missed a bug,then B or C would catch it. Am I wasting time? Thanks again.
__________________
Corsair Air 540 -i7 4930k @ 4.4ghz. Liquid cooled-4x4gb G Skill Trident X DDR3@ 2400mhz- Two EVGA Titans SLI - Xonar Phoebus Sound Card-Dell 3008 30" Monitor-Razer Tiamat Headphones-Butt Kicker Gamer-TrackIR 5
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 12:53 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,227

My System Specs

Default

You can have as many AV utilities on your PC as you want so long as they aren't running in the background at the same time. If you have more than one running as a background/service you stand a very good chance of having a conflict between the programs (AV progs by nature require deep access to your OS and don't like it when other programs are attempting to use/control the same resources). Once you've got an AV conflict it can often be verrrryyyyy difficult to restore full functionality without a system restore/reinstall.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 01:05 PM
Dr_BenD_over's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 2,406

My System Specs

Default

I've found more than one = not being able to use the damn computer.
__________________
All's well that's Haswell
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 01:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Generally no. All full featured AV programs scans "on access", i.e., whenever you access a file it's automatically scanned. So if you have 2+ AV running at the same time they'll get in the way of each other. Many AVs will not install if it detect another AV is already present.

Exception is with "on demand" only AV programs such as Malwarebytes that are not automatically loaded and will only scan files on demand. But in such capacity they function more as "cleaner" than as "protection".

There are stuff out there such as HIDS that may augment AV protection, however, if you are thinking of "specialised" scanners such as anti-trojans/adware/spywares, they're not really needed anymore since most of the better AV will include those in their signature databases. If you have something in mind Let me know what your needs are and maybe I can offer a couple of suggestions.
__________________
iK ©
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 01:14 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,282

My System Specs

Default

I have 2 or three portable antivirus that way if my computer ever gets infected ( which hasn't happened in a long time) it won't screw up the anyti virus becasue it isn't installed , all I need to do is insert the usb pendrive and run it . also it doesn't need to be running all of the time, the only times you need antivirus is when you are not running your email program or web browser sandboxed and you download or pic up a email that has a virus or trojan attached
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 01:20 PM
AkG's Avatar
AkG AkG is offline
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,255
Default

The idea that a good anti-malware program like malwarebytes is NOT needed because "most of the better AV will include those in their signature databases" is laughable. AV's are great at catching VIRUS' but out and out suck at malware. They are getting better but they are nowhere close to being to the point where you can get the equivalent of malwarebytes (or to a lesser extent SAS) in a "all in one" AV program. AV programs are just too slow at updates compared to once an hour updates mbytes has.

IMHO It is better to run free AV and pay the one time fee for Malwarebytes than it is to pay for an AV program and rely solely on it. IMHO avira personal + full version malwarebytes is a damn good combo and I have yet to see any issue crop up from using them together. I have yet to see any issue crop up from MS essentials + malwarebytes (another decent combo) and I have yet to see any issue crop up with NOD32+ malwarebytes (also a very good combo).

YMMV
__________________
"If you ever start taking things too seriously, just remember that we are talking monkeys on an organic spaceship flying through the universe." -JR

“if your opponent has a conscience, then follow Gandhi. But if you enemy has no conscience, like Hitler, then follow Bonhoeffer.” - Dr. MLK jr
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 29, 2010, 02:08 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AkG View Post
AV's are great at catching VIRUS' but out and out suck at malware.
"Virus" is the traditional descriptor for all malware, including virus (file infector), worms, trojans, backdoors, bots, dialers, etc., because in the old days the majority of malware are file infector viruses.

Nowadays most malware are trojans and all AV will try to detect them. Take a look at the results of AV-Comparative, it lists the various categories detected by the AV. Note that adwares and spyware are not listed since most of them are trojans.

http://www.av-comparatives.org/image...od_aug2010.pdf

Quote:
AV programs are just too slow at updates compared to once an hour updates mbytes has.
Many AV provides hourly updates when necessary, some like Norton can provide updates even more frequently than that. Most of the big AV vendors are also implementing "cloud" based technology, which basically means that the AV will query the vendor's servers on suspicious files instead of waiting for an update. It's currently the quickest way to respond to new threats.

Signature based detection rate for brand new variants is pretty bad across the board for all antivirus/antimalware, we're seeing more than 5000 new samples a day, so even with hourly updates, you're going to miss a few (not to mention that you need yo capture a sample first before you can generate a signature). That's why most of the better AV include non-signature based detection modules.
__________________
iK ©
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programs for Win 7 32 or 64 bit? GMJim O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 January 22, 2010 05:28 PM
Font management programs? Sam! O/S's, Drivers & General Software 1 September 3, 2009 12:08 AM
Programs to overclock Shady O/S's, Drivers & General Software 12 July 17, 2009 10:52 PM
ultimate install closed down after install prebent O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 September 25, 2008 02:05 AM
Programs That Choke Your Chicken misterlarry O/S's, Drivers & General Software 30 September 23, 2008 08:42 AM