Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 17, 2010, 09:03 PM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default Win 7 HP + combined storage pool

Hey Guys/Girls,

I searched but it came up only for WHS. Also im planning to get the Asus Crosshair IV in a few months, so everything will be moved to that mobo. Unfortunately, searching using the same questions comes up as only on RAID or JBOD is supported under the new mobo.

I dont want to use mobo raid.

Anyhow, my WHS server has currently have 2.1 TB of data out of 4 TB. My Gaming rig has one (2 TB) hd. Im planning to get another 2 TB and i was wondering if there's a way i can pool two (2 TB) under one partition on Win 7?

Or a 3rd party solution is needed?
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 18, 2010, 10:30 AM
botat29's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 828
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prolab View Post
... i was wondering if there's a way i can pool two (2 TB) under one partition on Win 7?...
Or a 3rd party solution is needed?
With windows 7 you can set your drive as dynamic drive, it will allow you to make a volume of 4 tb with 2 x2tb drives . But you will need a dam god backup in case 1 drive fail.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 20, 2010, 11:29 AM
Prolab's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Oh ok, thanks for the heads up.
__________________
Gaming Rig:
-Swiffy MCP35x X2, (2) Aphacool UT60 480 rad, Heatkiller rev. 3.0, i7 3930k @ 4.6 Ghz, 16 GB G.SKILL F3, Asus Rampage IV Extreme, XFX R9 290 w/ XPSC WB, Crucial M4 128GB & 240 GB Intel 530, (5) 3 TB Toshiba Drive, Corsair AX1200, Win 7 Ult 64-bit

HTPC Rig:
-G3258 @ Stock, Asrock Z97 Pro 4, Gigabyte 270x, 500 GB WD Black, (5) 2 TB WD Green, (1) 3 TB Toshiba HD, (1) 2 TB Samsung F4, Fractal Design R3, Corsair HX620 PS, Win 7 Ult 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Denim and Computers...something that shouldn't be combined aviduser Cases 15 December 22, 2009 11:25 AM
HWC Hockey Pool!!!! Eldonko Hockey 271 September 28, 2009 10:57 AM
combined wireless router w/ADSL modem Mr. Friendly Networking 5 April 29, 2009 04:07 PM
Can I fold on a GT200 and G92 combined rigs? zlojack HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 March 12, 2009 11:38 AM
basic(?) psu question - dual rail combined ratings ccm001 Power Supplies 7 March 26, 2008 05:58 AM