Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 07:59 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Most likely. The only real downfall is that you can't submit your results to ORB. Otherwise, nobody's the wiser
Ho that's why he never worked for me...
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 08:46 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

Maybe I'm just paranoid but when I needed to send my laptop in (to Dell) I wiped the HDD and installed a fresh OS from the repair disk, then when I got it back I restored the image with my actual stuff back onto it. I probably wouldn't have noticed the Vantage unless the icon was sitting right there on the desktop, nor would I care as I started the procedure to restore my drive image
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 08:53 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frontier204 View Post
Maybe I'm just paranoid but when I needed to send my laptop in (to Dell) I wiped the HDD and installed a fresh OS from the repair disk, then when I got it back I restored the image with my actual stuff back onto it. I probably wouldn't have noticed the Vantage unless the icon was sitting right there on the desktop, nor would I care as I started the procedure to restore my drive image
No it's ok to do that. Sure for dell it's harder to stole your data since they only have the stuff they need on the bench but probably all local shop have a wierd guy that would look your data and steel your porn.
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 09:32 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: mtl
Posts: 12,694
Default

there was an article about some repair shop's guy getting the porn off laptops.lol.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 09:39 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Heh... I used to tell my clients that letting me (as the PC repair guy) root through their HDD was almost the same as going to confession with a priest... I've seen it all, and quite frankly couldn't care less (unless of course it was kiddie porn).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old October 15, 2010, 10:13 PM
ToXic's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 469
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MacJunky View Post
Why did it not work?
Key not accepted.
__________________
Some kind of pathetic Apple convert

17" Macbook Pro (early 2011 model)
2.2Ghz i7-2720QM | 8GB Corsair DDR3 1333Mhz | 750gb Toshiba HDD | ATI 6750M 1GB
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 10:29 AM
Cowboy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,375
Default

I always remove the hard drive from my laptop before I send it in. They have spares, and quite frankly I don't trust anyone else with my data.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old October 16, 2010, 11:11 AM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,715

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowboy View Post
I always remove the hard drive from my laptop before I send it in. They have spares, and quite frankly I don't trust anyone else with my data.
<- This is smart. It is what I would do if I actually had to take/send any computers in.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTA place that will fix a laptop ? sumik Troubleshooting 2 July 24, 2010 08:40 AM
OLD PC repair kendallcschm CPU's and Motherboards 38 January 18, 2010 08:17 PM
[WTB] Gaming Laptop/ Notebook (Local) wonton1017 Buy/Sell & Trade 4 August 24, 2009 01:00 PM
repair shop name tzetsin Off Topic 12 April 16, 2009 05:13 PM
xp repair not a option dirtfarmer O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 June 15, 2008 04:50 AM