Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2010, 07:40 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,400

My System Specs

Default

My Toshiba Satellite A200 works marvelously with Windows 7 Ultimate.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old October 11, 2010, 07:57 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,402

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
My Toshiba Satellite A200 works marvelously with Windows 7 Ultimate.
Heh... that's the kind of information I want him to hear.... now if he can find somebody with his exact model# he'll be good to go. :)

I don't want to be accused of putting out FUD, but the issue is reported as being out there, so forewarned is always best.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old October 13, 2010, 02:50 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

I have an ancient Thinkpad and there are discussions on the Thinkpad forums of people using their older generations with Windows 7 (not sure how but they do). So, I'm wondering if it's just whether the manufacturer company (i.e. brand) of the particular laptop was able to deliver with drivers for that particular laptop. Of course, some older laptops might need the user to disable the Aero or extra bells and whistles if they want faster performance or to enhance user experience and what not.

Just speculating, though...

The only other possibility is to match up your particular hardware so behind the hood with drivers... not sure how well that would work but if it's common hardware, you try for the closest match. If you have a Toshiba with X sound card, look for other Toshibas or brands that have the same sound card... and so on. However, I'd say that's a last resort.

I think the only thing that matters with respect to which version of Windows 7 is whether the processor of the laptop can utilize 64-bit. As for Home Premium or Pro, I think you're just looking at the points I made previous above. Is there drivers for the laptop?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2011, 11:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Window 7 ultimate is 32 bits and it is running quite well on my dell laptop. I have a configuration of i3 processor, with 320 hdd, and 4gb rem, but the problem is i don't like the features of windows 7, there are some options which are missing, like in xp i always use the repair button for the LAN, but there is no option on window 7, i searched a lot for it.

digital signature
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 - What version should i buy?? mjpd1983 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 August 20, 2010 03:27 AM
-Bigadv To Start Using The A3 Core, Still No Windows Version LCB001 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 May 25, 2010 01:48 PM
which version of windows 7 rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 January 1, 2010 03:46 PM
A way to know witch version of Windows from the Key MarkOne O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 November 23, 2009 01:42 PM
Windows 7 Version Question geokilla O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 July 2, 2009 08:29 PM