Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 06:33 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 306

My System Specs

Default 64 bit win 7 and 64 bit Office 2010

It seems if you get Office 2010 it will default to installing the 32 bit version for compatiblity issues. There are directions for installing the 64 bit version online. My question is does it matter? Wouldn't the 64 bit version be faster? How much trouble or compatiblity issues do you have running the 64 bit version? Anyone have experience here with this?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 07:32 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

Don't use the 64 bit version of office unless you absolutely need the larger memory address with excel. Even Microsoft will tell you to avoid the 64 bit version.

It is much better to go for the 32bit there are way less issues.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 07:58 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada Eh
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

ipaine may be correct in the long run depending on what aspects of office you use however I installed 64 Bit office 2010 on my Laptop and desktop running Windows 7 64 Bit, no problems whatsoever. I also us Internet Explorer 9 Beta and there's a 64 Bit version of Adobe Flash now available, also a beta. I had though some of the concerns with using 64 Bit office 2010 was related to things like Internet Explorer, Flash etc.. in other words some external programs that have a degree of integration with office. I am however not 100% sure of these facts and am still looking into it.
__________________
Cheers; Snarl

Another Guy From Canada
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 08:18 AM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,054

My System Specs

Default

It really is general compatibility with everything else. Here at the office we started to have a few calendar issues and just general stability issues as well. And it is Microsofts recommendation as well.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 10:08 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,880

My System Specs

Default

I think for home users though, the 64bit version wouldn't have too much of an impact. All seems fine here and I've been using it since the beta.

Granted I'm by no means a heavy office user, just the odd project/report for school here and there. Works fine with SkyDrive/Office Live to edit/upload documents.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 05:14 PM
m1dget's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Terrebonne, Qc
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bonanza2000 View Post
My question is does it matter? Wouldn't the 64 bit version be faster?
Almost nothing 64 bits out there currently is faster than 32 bits stuff.

Unless they did the threading better or optimized the code throughout the program I wouldn't expect much or nothing at all (and even something slower?).
__________________
"NIX is a classic example of security through obscurity because there is no real monetary reward for crackers and hackers to break Linix" -AkG
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 06:34 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

the performance would be about equal.

however, I'm pretty sure Word doesn't need 4+ GB ram. or even excel.. unless you have a crazy h00ge sheet.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 07:27 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

we can have a winword.exe drag race!!! your 64 bit versus my 32 bit... heh

I think if you need the added cells with excel 64 bit, you should be looking into a database back-end for your spread sheets or something... it's quite excessive.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 6, 2010, 08:49 PM
m1dget's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Terrebonne, Qc
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by grinder View Post
we can have a winword.exe drag race!!! your 64 bit versus my 32 bit... heh

I think if you need the added cells with excel 64 bit, you should be looking into a database back-end for your spread sheets or something... it's quite excessive.
So on the right lane you have $banane number of instructions executed in $poulet seconds for 32 bit... and on the left line you have $banane number of instructions executed in $poulet seconds for 64 bit.

booya D:
__________________
"NIX is a classic example of security through obscurity because there is no real monetary reward for crackers and hackers to break Linix" -AkG
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Programs for Win 7 32 or 64 bit? GMJim O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 January 22, 2010 05:28 PM
Any benefits of installing Windows 7 64 bit vs 32 bit? HoTiCE_ O/S's, Drivers & General Software 20 November 5, 2009 04:35 AM
XP Pro 32 bit - Upgrade too Vista Ultimate 64 bit Maxtor O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 April 13, 2009 03:34 PM
64 Bit Vista Ultimate and Office Ultimate 32 Bit tyreman O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 March 22, 2009 04:54 AM
Vista 64 Bit - Microsoft Office 2000 Another Query rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 January 25, 2009 06:45 PM