Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2010, 03:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default Dummy Needs Help Installing XP; Really Stumped...

Hi Dudes,

A pal brought to me her old Dell desktop which requires a simple reformat, XP 32. I've cleanly installed two different versions of XP now, Home and Pro editions, both legit copies. Each time, the install went as it normally would, but each time following installation, I can't get on the web or connect to a network (am attempting to connect via ethernet cable from router to this dektop). She assures me that nothing has changed with the PC's hardware, so why am I getting the big yellow question mark in device manager, regarding the ethernet controller? FWIW, there are also question marks beside video controller and a couple other unrelated items, as well.

What am I missing here? Really appreciate some help.

Thanks a lot.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2010, 03:09 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

Get yourself a proper driver for the ethernet card.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2010, 03:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,514

My System Specs

Default

You need to get the drivers from the Dell website for that particular model. XP obviously isn't picking up the hardware from the default drivers on the install disk.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2010, 03:15 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

Thanks dudes, I'll look into it.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2010, 05:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

Update: thanks for the suggestions, fellas; of course, that was the problem. I was just too initially lazy to look into the matter, hoping the problem could be solved with the XP discs; not so much. Finding the proper drivers was a bit of a hit n' miss affair, but all issues are solved now.

Thanks again.

DS.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2010, 05:44 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,514

My System Specs

Default

Glad to hear it worked out for you. Gotta be a pretty old system (think P3, and maybe if you're lucky P4) for XP to have all of the correct drivers.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old September 27, 2010, 08:42 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

Oh and if you are installing XP be prepared to do a full day's worth of updates. I know I have done a few machines recently at work and it really is like a full day of downloading and installing Microsoft updates, and that is with installing it with SP3 already. If the disk you used only has SP2 on it then it will take even longer.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2010, 03:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: GTA
Posts: 45
Default

Hee hee, no kidding about the updates; took me many more hours of downloading and installing updates, constantly interrupted by a ridiculous number of reboots, before the box was up to SP3, and current. Glad it's done.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2010, 03:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Markham
Posts: 1,569

My System Specs

Default

Next time, slipstream the drivers/updates onto a new disk, making the disk takes a while, but it'll still save you hours on each reformat.

This is a free utility that makes things a little simpler: nLite - Deployment Tool for the bootable Unattended Windows installation
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old October 3, 2010, 04:04 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ilya View Post
Next time, slipstream the drivers/updates onto a new disk, making the disk takes a while, but it'll still save you hours on each reformat.

This is a free utility that makes things a little simpler: nLite - Deployment Tool for the bootable Unattended Windows installation
Definitely recommend this. Use nLite to integrate an Update Pack, like this: Download - XP SP3 Update Pack - xable.net so you don't have to manually download a boat load of updates. Really expedites the XP install process.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resistors for VGA Dummy Plug Prof. Dr. Silver HardwareCanucks F@H Team 25 August 24, 2011 05:04 AM
Dummy plug matsta31 HardwareCanucks F@H Team 8 February 28, 2010 05:21 PM
[WTT] FS Dummy Thread Supergrover Buy/Sell & Trade 0 December 4, 2009 10:18 AM
Dummy plug? martin_metal_88 Video Cards 11 July 6, 2009 11:47 AM
Anyone know where I can buy a Free standing Boxing Dummy in the GTA? AERo Off Topic 7 June 28, 2009 03:54 PM