Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 01:17 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default System restore won't work at all, vista 32

So I tried to restore, and it failed, tried a diff restore point, failed. ALL restore points fail.

It looks like its working, goes through the paces, reboots, then says it failed...

Any ideas to start me off?
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 01:31 PM
Droc's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 38
Default

I never had much luck with system restore myself. I learned my lesson with it back a few years ago. These days many software problems embed themselves in restore points.

Honestly, anything serious enough to require a restore point is enough to make me do a full wipe and reinstall. Im at the point now where I can do it in an evening. reformatting the drive, reinstalling, updating, drivers, essential programs....getting everything new again from a fresh start is worth it.

Keeping in mind, Im new to this forum and dont know the specifics of your problem.
__________________
Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus : Intel E6400 : 2GB OCZ 6400 DDR2 : BFG 8800GTS 320MB Factory OC : Antec P180 : Samsung 226BW
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 01:41 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,583
Default

System Restore is a joke and usually causes more grief than it does any good.

There is never a reason to use system restore as most stuff is easily fixable and if not fixable and system restore takes care of it.

System Restore was a horrible idea as its a great breeding ground for viruses/malware.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 02:50 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

I guess I am just being picky as I actually never use system restore either...

I just like everything to "work" it literally keeps me up at night when stuff isn't perfect.

It doesn't translate to everything as my yard looks like crap and my house is messy all the time, but when it comes to electronics it is 100% or nothing, I fix medical electronics so it's probably where it comes from...

Why, knowing this about myself, I would then choose to install Vista on my new rig?

Not a clue...

Also "hibernate" does not work, shuts down ok, but when you turn it back on it freaks out, glitches and says it couldnt recover from hibernation, then loads up, takes 5x longer than a cold startup...

again, I prefer a full shutdown, but still...
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 03:17 PM
Droc's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 38
Default

people turn their computers off?

I dont think mine has been turned off except for cleaning in the past year.
__________________
Asus P5N32-E SLI Plus : Intel E6400 : 2GB OCZ 6400 DDR2 : BFG 8800GTS 320MB Factory OC : Antec P180 : Samsung 226BW
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 03:25 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
I guess I am just being picky as I actually never use system restore either...

I just like everything to "work" it literally keeps me up at night when stuff isn't perfect.

It doesn't translate to everything as my yard looks like crap and my house is messy all the time, but when it comes to electronics it is 100% or nothing, I fix medical electronics so it's probably where it comes from...

Why, knowing this about myself, I would then choose to install Vista on my new rig?

Not a clue...

Also "hibernate" does not work, shuts down ok, but when you turn it back on it freaks out, glitches and says it couldnt recover from hibernation, then loads up, takes 5x longer than a cold startup...

again, I prefer a full shutdown, but still...
Why bother using hibernate or turn your computer off? The little power they use isn't going to make a huge impact on your power bill.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 03:27 PM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

power-on = $$$

power-off =

No reason to leave it on, less chance of damage, less power usage, less cleaning needed less bad, more good.

pc can pull 250 watts at idle, 24/7 that like 12 bucks a month down the toilet. Just think, 150 bux a year can buy you a new toy for your pc
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 03:47 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,583
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by donimo View Post
power-on = $$$

power-off =

No reason to leave it on, less chance of damage, less power usage, less cleaning needed less bad, more good.

pc can pull 250 watts at idle, 24/7 that like 12 bucks a month down the toilet. Just think, 150 bux a year can buy you a new toy for your pc
$12/month isn't that much at all and what do mean by less chance of damage and cleaning? As long as you have proper airflow and keep your house clean do regular maintenance on your machine and have it hooked upto a proper battery backup there is no damage at all.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 5, 2007, 04:36 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,312

My System Specs

Default

Ya all Sys restore does is take up room and if there are any problems( like MAL ware , Virus's) in the restore point you will bring them right back out my sister learned that lesson she was downloading all this stuff and she caught a virus but didn't notice it for a couple of days used the anti virus and it got rid of the virus except the one stored in the restore point she did a sys restore (because of some other problem she had) took off for a week ( some Vacation) came back and her computer would boot but that was it I had to wipe everything I actually talked her into a new HD because she only had a small 60 gig anyway I told her that when ever you use any cleaner virus/malware program to always turn off the sys restore or better yet don't even use it.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 6, 2007, 08:51 AM
donimo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 831
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
$12/month isn't that much at all and what do mean by less chance of damage and cleaning? As long as you have proper airflow and keep your house clean do regular maintenance on your machine and have it hooked upto a proper battery backup there is no damage at all.
Well, you would have to agree that there is a better chance of a component failing when the PC is powered on vs off. Your power supply rarely blows when off, but if it did when it was on it can take a lot of stuff with it (personal experience). Sure it's unlikely, but the chances of a fialure drop waaaaaay further when it is off.

And as for cleaning, well that' easy, if a fan isnt turned on, it cant suck up dust.
I clean my PC about once every 3 years, and trust me even that is overkill as its never dirty...

At work I have the same system running in 2 different departments, one is on 24/7 365, the other only for a few hours a day during the week, one needs cleaning every 3 months, the other only once in 6 years. One has had a power supply issue, 3 screen issues and about 40x the filter changes, guess which one?
__________________
Mobo GA-Z77X-UD3 CPU i5-3570K stock RAM:2x4GB Patriot Viper 1866 1.5v GPU:XFX HD6850 BE + Gigabyte HD6850 @820/4400MHz Case:Bitfenix Raider w/2x 200mm + 135mm PSU: Corsair HX620
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New system, will included psu work quick90 Power Supplies 5 February 17, 2008 12:33 PM
TAT will not work. yycraven Troubleshooting 13 February 14, 2008 07:49 AM
Will this all work? Infiniti Water Cooling 11 January 8, 2008 09:50 PM
First custom system, hd error Can't install Xp or vista zffarooq Troubleshooting 2 November 3, 2007 01:26 PM
Techgage has Windows Vista system performance reports Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 5 January 25, 2007 01:54 PM