Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old December 11, 2007, 04:41 AM
llama_egg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lloydminster
Posts: 748
Default

I personally think your being a little to paranoid, but I can easily see where your coming from. Even I normally turn off my computer if I'm not downloading or running scans/benchies, though I've yet to have any problems. Even when my old rig was on 24/7 I could get by with cleaning it every 6 months to a year and everything would be fine, and never had a PSU problem once, though my old monitor finally began burning out after a few years of heavy use. But enough of that, back onto topic shall we?

As everyone has been stating, system restore is junk most of the time, it's normally a better bet just to backup what you need on a regular basis and if something happens, just do a full wipe. Now onto your hibernate problem, that's a Vista problem, I believe it was a problem with certain hardware/drivers that messes with it, but can't quite remember as I haven't looked into it for a while. But the point of it being, it's not something you can really fix.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 6, 2008, 07:35 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Talking

you can try I believe the vista cd and it will see if it can repair and get it going.


futrue use software: acronis true image with system restore turned off.
system restore can mix around items rename even if it works(i had used it on xp a couple times).
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New system, will included psu work quick90 Power Supplies 5 February 17, 2008 01:33 PM
TAT will not work. yycraven Troubleshooting 13 February 14, 2008 08:49 AM
Will this all work? Infiniti Water Cooling 11 January 8, 2008 10:50 PM
First custom system, hd error Can't install Xp or vista zffarooq Troubleshooting 2 November 3, 2007 02:26 PM
Techgage has Windows Vista system performance reports Supergrover Press Releases & Tech News 5 January 25, 2007 02:54 PM