Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 12:27 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default Blu-Ray software

Any suggestions? Not to burn or rip...just to play off my Asus Blu-Ray player on this PC.

Thanks
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 12:51 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

anydvd/blu-ray media player classic "home cine" is what i have always used
edit codec's maybe required not sure it's been awhile
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 12:54 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
anydvd/blu-ray media player classic "home cine" is what i have always used
edit codec's maybe required not sure it's been awhile
Which is it or do I need both?
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 12:56 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

anydvd/hd/blu-ray is just to make it playable on almost anything ( it removes copyright ) and media player classic is the player. I don't have a blu-ray handy to try i think media player classic may be able to play it by it self give it a shot and see
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 01:07 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
anydvd/blu-ray media player classic "home cine" is what i have always used
edit codec's maybe required not sure it's been awhile
MPC-HC can play actual bluray discs w/o converting to MKV?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 01:11 PM
Mark's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bolton, Ontario
Posts: 859
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
MPC-HC can play actual bluray discs w/o converting to MKV?
Just tried it out and it won't play. Need a simple solution...I'll keep looking. Thanks.
__________________



CHEERS
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 05:17 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,972

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark View Post
Just tried it out and it won't play. Need a simple solution...I'll keep looking. Thanks.
Total Media Theatre 3. It is about as good as it gets...however that isn't saying much. I am not sure how much better BD software has got in the last year but it use to be horrific.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 10:01 PM
Evilyeti's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Brandon, Manitoba
Posts: 317

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Total Media Theatre 3. It is about as good as it gets...however that isn't saying much. I am not sure how much better BD software has got in the last year but it use to be horrific.
I can vouch for Total Media Theatre 3 been running it on my desktop and my laptop for blu-ray play back and it seems to work without a hitch.
__________________
This is my signature! Roar
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 10:44 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,402

My System Specs

Default

I don't know if SageTV will be suitable for you. Some new Blu-ray support in the recently-released version 7 (which I don't have yet):
Version 7 Public Beta Has Begun! - SageTV Community

Edit: the above link (read first) has the major new additions to Sage, and the below link has the latest beta with minor fixes:
SageTV V7.0.15 Beta is Ready! - SageTV Community

I have been very happy with sage (especially the placeshifter) but I have not tried blu-rays with it yet, but the trial has no limitations for two weeks if you would like to give it a shot.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 10:53 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,496

My System Specs

Default

PowerDVD for a simple solution or AnyDVD + WMP + codec package otherwise.
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking For: Blu-Ray Reader AmuseMe Storage 8 June 1, 2010 03:58 PM
Blu ray recorder? Crownregent HTPC Systems & Software 1 December 1, 2009 07:52 PM
Looking to Pick up a Blu-Ray for my TV PC norfolk HTPC Systems & Software 9 November 18, 2008 11:20 AM
Do we need Blu-Ray? mazabe Storage 35 November 14, 2008 11:23 PM
Resolution of Blu-Ray movies on PC? Mibs HTPC Systems & Software 1 May 24, 2008 02:44 PM