Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 25, 2010, 11:57 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,074

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chriskwarren View Post
I don't know if SageTV will be suitable for you. Some new Blu-ray support in the recently-released version 7 (which I don't have yet):
Version 7 Public Beta Has Begun! - SageTV Community

Edit: the above link (read first) has the major new additions to Sage, and the below link has the latest beta with minor fixes:
SageTV V7.0.15 Beta is Ready! - SageTV Community

I have been very happy with sage (especially the placeshifter) but I have not tried blu-rays with it yet, but the trial has no limitations for two weeks if you would like to give it a shot.
My biggest regret w/ my HTPC was going w/ BeyondTV over SageTV. It was like 2 weeks after I spent $100 on their software that they announced they wouldn't be updating it anymore.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 12:07 AM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
My biggest regret w/ my HTPC was going w/ BeyondTV over SageTV. It was like 2 weeks after I spent $100 on their software that they announced they wouldn't be updating it anymore.
Looking at the new version now. Here is a quick Youtube video:
YouTube - What Can Sage 7 Do For You

Here is a pretty good site with some Sage info:
GeekTonic: SageTV Ultimate Guide

And here:
GeekTonic: SageTV 7 Arrives Tomorrow – New UI, Plugin Manager, and More

But looks like you may need some codecs for Blu-ray disks though
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 09:06 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

ya it can it just needs a codec pack ( if i had a blu-ray i would find out which one it is i think ffdshow not sure cause i don't have a blu-ray handy sorry )

edit sage looks great thanks chris
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 26, 2010, 12:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

ASUS usually bundles Cyberlink PowerDVD with their blu-ray drives. Check the install disc for something call ASUS BR Suite (or HD Suite or... well check the disc... <g>)
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 27, 2010, 05:22 PM
r0bc's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: AB
Posts: 688

My System Specs

Default

I've been ripping to ISO,storing them on the server, indexing with My Movies and playing back with PowerDVD 10 Ultra. Everything through Media Center.
I know there are better ways but it works great for me.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 07:01 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

+1^^ for PowerDVD 10 Ultra....it works perfectly


edit by sswilson: Sorry but we discourage links to torrents, especially those from names linked to pirating copyrighted software.
__________________


Last edited by kruzn4evr; August 31, 2010 at 08:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 07:38 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,735

My System Specs

Default

Please don't post links to torrents, or pirated software.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old August 31, 2010, 08:52 PM
kruzn4evr's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 1,801

My System Specs

Default

Sorry SS....my apologies, I should've known better, won't happen again
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Looking For: Blu-Ray Reader AmuseMe Storage 8 June 1, 2010 04:58 PM
Blu ray recorder? Crownregent HTPC Systems & Software 1 December 1, 2009 08:52 PM
Looking to Pick up a Blu-Ray for my TV PC norfolk HTPC Systems & Software 9 November 18, 2008 12:20 PM
Do we need Blu-Ray? mazabe Storage 35 November 15, 2008 12:23 AM
Resolution of Blu-Ray movies on PC? Mibs HTPC Systems & Software 1 May 24, 2008 03:44 PM