Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 01:31 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default PC Downloads Without me Knowing!

Hey please I need some help. I finally found out why my data usage is being used up all the time.
If I watch a video on youtube and then press back or quit it... sometimes the data from the video is still being downloaded. I found this out by looking at my firewall....the recieved bytes keeps downloading.
The more I go back the more higher my data will be loading at faster speeds. I look at my data usage and 300 mb get downloaded in like 3 minutes or less. (I have fast 25Mbps internet) This is a big problem because of my speed. To fix this problem temproarly i have to disable my ethernet card thing and reanable it. Then the downloading stops.

what could be the problem?
I am currently running virus scan and i found 4 infected but i really dont think its a virus. I think its some sort of bug.

Happens in internet explorer and Firefox...
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 01:34 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Do you use any kind of download manager, or possibly one of those Youtube video converters?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 02:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

no. I dont know why it happens. I have been using google chrome and it reduces the chances of it downloading without me actually watching the video.

I always have to keep an eye on my firewall to make sure nothing is being downloaded.

I am sure it has to be the videos because this only happens when I watch youtube or any other videos like dialymotion.com and when i press back or click a new video.

I dont think this happens to my other pc's.

antivirus has found 9 infected files now.. i really hope its a virus.
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 02:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default

When I mean downloading.. i dont mean like saving to the computer. Just streaming but the data does get downloaded maybe to cache.
__________________
Build: i7-920, EVGA GTX 285, XFX X58i Extreme Edition , 2GB x 3 DDR3 - Patriot Viper, ThermalTake M9 V1000series, Ultra LSP 650w, Western Digital 500GB @7200rpm,
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 03:04 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Make your browser cache size less than 20mb and see if that helps.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 03:05 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Yeah it would normally go into cache. What I'm wondering is if "normal" operation would be for any media player to anticipate wanting to play the whole file and downloading it in total for cache purposes.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 03:06 PM
m1dget's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Terrebonne, Qc
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Is the problem only when you are watching video with your browser?

If not, I'm going to assume that you don't have a wireless network attached to your router/one of your computer running on your network that has access to your gateway?

If you don't have a wireless AP well get 'wireshark', run it on your main/possibly only NIC, post results and then we will be able to help you better. It may be windows screwing up big time also; I've seen some weird crap going on with the network stack of that creature o.O
__________________
"NIX is a classic example of security through obscurity because there is no real monetary reward for crackers and hackers to break Linix" -AkG
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 03:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

If you right click on a youtube video there is the option to "stop download". There is also the option to adjust how large of a file size youtube is allowed to store. I'd try adjusting that down.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 03:17 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

You can also check here for "peer assisted network" settings in flash player to disable it. When the hell did Flash sneak in a freaking P2P client / functionality?!?!?!?!?!

Adobe - Flash Player : Settings Manager - Peer Assisted Networking Settings panel

How many other freaking utilities these days are using my f'ing bandwidth without my consent, or if they aren't using it yet, how many have the option built into them!?!?!?!?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 11, 2010, 03:22 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,598
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
You can also check here for "peer assisted network" settings in flash player to disable it. When the hell did Flash sneak in a freaking P2P client / functionality?!?!?!?!?!

Adobe - Flash Player : Settings Manager - Peer Assisted Networking Settings panel

How many other freaking utilities these days are using my f'ing bandwidth without my consent, or if they aren't using it yet, how many have the option built into them!?!?!?!?
holy shit... i had a long list in there :O bastards
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fan Hole & Radiator Template Downloads Mnpctech Guides & How-to's 6 October 30, 2009 03:07 AM
x-fi prelude patch 1.0 gone from driver downloads moondogg Audio 4 April 29, 2008 03:26 PM