Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 07:41 PM
TokeR's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for all the responses guys, the only problem I have is that I want to keep the old drive and everything on it (including drivers) for my media PC, So just putting the drive into my new build will probably work but then I don't have all the stuff I wanted on my media PC lol

I swear for 230 dollars they should give you a few licenses so expensive..
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 07:46 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

If it's going to cost you that much, you might want to look into a technet subscription.......
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old August 6, 2010, 11:44 PM
TokeR's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Hmm, don't think I would get my moneys worth with a TechNet Subscription "Starts as low as $512 a year!"

No thanks haha, I found a store that will sell me a OEM copy of Windows 7 Professional for only $175, whats the catch here? $55 cheaper than the Retail Home Premium for Professional OEM?

What would I be losing by buying this OEM version? if it's just the pretty box ill take it!

Edit:

After a little reading I noticed that I only get one version of windows 7 with the OEM copy 32bit or 64bit, I have 6GB's of Ram so I guess I will have to get the 64bit.. really did not think about this because I heard that "Allot" of programs don't work so well on 64bit OS.. I was under the impression that they made it possible to read 6GB's with Windows 7 32bit..

Not sure what to do.. I pretty much use my computer just for gaming but I also use it for iTunes music and watching movies with VLC Player - then of course the Overclocking and 3DMARK then the rest of the time for internet stuff like forums ect... Also a bit of folding and I want to get into Video making and graphics designing.

What will I experience with 64bit will it effect the way I use my computer?

Last edited by TokeR; August 7, 2010 at 12:44 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2010, 04:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,225

My System Specs

Default

What's the exchange rate on your dollar? We can usually grab a technet sub (with a coupon code if one is available) for around $250 CDN, although if an OEM copy of win7 is going to cost you around 230 it sounds like it might be close to 2:1 as we can grab win7 for around $120.
__________________
EVGA X58 3X SLI / i7 980X / 3X 4G Mushkin Blackline Frostbite / XFX Pro 1000W / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / WD 6401AALS / TT Lvl 10 GT
Swiftech MCP655 WC Pump / EK XT 240 Rad / 2X Scythe Ultra Kaze / EK Supreme HF / Primochill Myriad Dual Bay Res / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Gigabyte C1007UN-D / 2X4G Gskill PC3-10700 / Pico PSU / 2.5" 750G Toshiba HDD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 19" BenQ / 1X 17" HP
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old August 7, 2010, 10:06 AM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 939

My System Specs

Default

64 bit wont affect anything Im aware of. Ive been using 64bit OS for at least 6 years now with very little issues. Unless your trying to run your windows 95/98 era software I cant see much of an issue. Now if your in production you might have a problem with company specific software, otherwise i wouldnt worry about anything.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old August 8, 2010, 03:55 AM
TokeR's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 276

My System Specs

Default

Sswilson, I think you read it wrong or I am not making much sense haha.. either way, I can get a OEM version of Windows 7 Professional for $175, The OEM Home Premium is only like $130-140 and the RETAIL Windows 7 Home Premium is $230.

At the moment according to Google 1 AUDollar = 0.9456 CADollar. Things are just quite a bit more expensive over here because of GST and the retailers upping the price haha :). Thanks for you're help though mate.


Fudd Rucker, Thanks that is good to know I was pretty worried for a bit there.. luckily I don't have company specific software and the only oldish game I still play is Empire Earth but I am sure I can live without lol.

Thanks mate.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nubby question about windows registry and stuff, moving program files 0o0 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 October 15, 2009 06:45 PM
Moving windows 7 onto a RAID 1 array Lpfan4ever O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 August 30, 2009 06:58 AM
Moving WC PC element291 Water Cooling 19 August 20, 2009 08:34 AM
Moving to a new place, Should I take out my CPU cooler for moving? appplejack Air Cooling 5 March 10, 2009 02:44 PM
Moving a PC tom.mullie Troubleshooting 22 August 30, 2008 10:26 PM