Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old August 1, 2010, 01:12 AM
Afrodisiac's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Posts: 10

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
What am I supposed to be looking for?
Anything unusual I suppose. Yellow warning icons. Also, maybe check Event Viewer, the System logs part.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 06:22 AM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Just went through the BIOS, don't see an option to disable AHCI. Wth =.=
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 06:26 AM
shaw
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default


You don't disable AHCI, you choose IDE instead. And the options can be found in the submenu of the HDDs usually, or the Northbridge configuration depending on the BIOS options.
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 06:45 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

there normally under sata config for gigabyte boards . but pointless. jm2cents. find a driver that works akg worked this out i think so maybe he can help ya out hopefully. good luck geo
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 09:24 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

The options that the two of you talked about does not exist. HP fail
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old August 3, 2010, 09:53 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

It's not surprising that the option wouldn't be listed in an OEM BIOS. I'd even say that it's a good thing it isn't there, since in case some hapless idiot accidentally switches the setting without properly configuring Windows, he would end up unable to boot into an OS for apparently no reason. There's no real need for AHCI to be disabled other than aesthetic reasons.
Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2010, 06:06 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero82z View Post
It's not surprising that the option wouldn't be listed in an OEM BIOS. I'd even say that it's a good thing it isn't there, since in case some hapless idiot accidentally switches the setting without properly configuring Windows, he would end up unable to boot into an OS for apparently no reason. There's no real need for AHCI to be disabled other than aesthetic reasons.
My Dell laptop has the option...and all the Dell BIOSes I've seen do. It does come up with a nice warning prompt saying that it may make your OS un-bootable.

May be called legacy mode or something else. Hard to say really unless we could see the BIOS screens.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2010, 06:42 AM
N.V.M.'s Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: North Vancouver
Posts: 302
Default

can you not just right click on your clock(notification area) and customize the icon?
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2010, 07:44 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
The options that the two of you talked about does not exist. HP fail
oh sorry man that kinda sucks.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2010, 11:25 AM
MAK MAK is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 78
Default

Geokilla,

You might try adjusting the SATA port configuration settings. To quote from a microsoft document:

"If an internal SATA port is incorrectly configured as an external SATA port, a system vendor or administrator can correct it without updating the system BIOS or the Windows software.

To work around this problem, you can disable external SATA support on a per-channel basis by setting the value of the TreatAsInternalPort registry key to 1 and then rebooting the system.
If the system has both internal and external SATA ports, but a device that is attached to an internal SATA port appears in the Safely Remove Devices dialog box in the system tray or in Devices and Printers, you should reset the registry key for the port."

The document is eSATA.docx, located here:
Internal and External SATA Port Configuration
Using a registry tweak, you can make the hard drive SATA port and the DVD drive port "internal" which means you cannot remove them and they won't be on the "Safely Remove Hardware list".
Another thing: I don't know what versions of windows the document applies to.

The above docx file mentions how to add this registry for each SATA channel. But the trick (that I still haven't figured out) is knowing which SATA channel is which - this seems to be confusing sometimes. But I guess it won't hurt to try out!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internal HDD show in safely remove hardware... Kilauea Storage 6 July 23, 2010 11:10 AM
help remove virus hohohee Off Topic 16 July 12, 2010 03:29 PM
remove tim stain from cpu? BobbyLou CPU's and Motherboards 6 January 26, 2010 10:51 PM
I can't remove my side panel... Slinger Troubleshooting 5 February 29, 2008 10:26 AM