Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 12:59 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Exclamation Nasty viral problem, emergency! plz help!

A few days ago i was unknowingly infected with about a half dozen trojans:

trojan.crypt.xml
trojan.crypt.xml
fakealert.sg
generic18.ahul
cryptic.aox
generic18.agln
cryptic.aox

so anyways i first scanned and found nothing, then updated avg and found this. They were sent to the virus vault. Now i cant open any executables, haave rundll32 problems. For some reason though I can still open firefox, I do get redirected once in a while leading me to think this hasn't gone away. All info is backed up and now ive been trying to reformat, except i cant boot from the winxp cd. Bios is set to boot from the dvd drive, it spins up but nothing happens! Windows just boots up from C. Ive also tried to run the cd from within windows, but when i try to select install windows, nothing happens! Im at my wits end and nothing on the net seems to help. Would trying from safe mode help?

PS this is my old mans pc: mdg c2d e6300/946gz chipset w intedgrated gfx

Last edited by leland459; July 27, 2010 at 01:05 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 01:09 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,144

My System Specs

Default Safe mode

boot hit F8 into safe mode run AVG in safe mode.
What other spyware /malware programs hve you run ?
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 01:21 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

I havent really run much else, spybot and malwarebytes are on the pc but they wont run. I just get the "open with" window. When i select the file it just freezes.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 01:47 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

ya that is a bit of a nasty one you have to reinstall malwarebytes
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 01:51 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Wow- more viruses than a $10 Bangkok ...um....consultant.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 02:10 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

I know and this is on my list of the worst infections Ive had to deal with so far lol. Im not so much in the neighbourhood for fixing xp, i just want to reformat and start fresh, i do understand that some viruses can still be left over after a reformat, at least I could've swore i read something like that somewhere today, so correct me if I m wrong plz. So I'm wondering if i should still run AV in safe mode or would a reformat (i want to repartiton the drive anyways)be alright?


BTW I dont think I can install Malwarebytes, I cant seem to open any .exe files.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 02:35 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

are you getting errors when this is happening?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 02:37 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,456

My System Specs

Default

The W32.Sircam.Worm@mm worm virus can cause this issue. The W32/Sircam virus spreads itself through e-mail messages or unprotected network file shares and can reveal or delete information on your computer. To verify that your computer is infected with this kind of virus:
Restart your computer, press F8 at the Windows XP Startup menu, and then select Safe Mode with Command Prompt.
At the command prompt, type regedit, and press ENTER.
If the following registry key is set to C:\recycled\sirc32.exe "%1" %*, your computer is infected with the W32/SirCam worm virus:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\exefile\shell\open\command
Note If this registry setting is anything other than
"%1" %*
your computer may be infected with a different virus.
Also check this

Last edited by Shadowmeph; July 27, 2010 at 02:54 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 05:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,230

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by leland459 View Post
All info is backed up and now ive been trying to reformat, except i cant boot from the winxp cd. Bios is set to boot from the dvd drive, it spins up but nothing happens!
Windows CDs sometimes don't like starting up when they detect that a Windows install is already present, and something not at all. Try running a hard drive erase program from a CD, e.g. DBAN from Ultimate Boot CD, then try the Windows CD again. You don't have to go through the whole erase, since all you want to take out is the 512 bytes at the beginning of the disk, which is the MBR and partition tables. If you can erase that, the Windows CD will think it's installing onto a new disk and you'll be good to go with the install.

UBCD: Ultimate Boot CD - Overview
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2010, 06:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 25

My System Specs

Default

Thanks for the help, i'll try it tomorrow when i go back.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Old Spice Viral Marketing FiXT Off Topic 13 July 16, 2010 11:27 AM
Help with RAM problem plz! Plasma RAM 4 December 7, 2009 10:48 PM
AROUND THE NET ( viral video's) badatcards Off Topic 61 November 14, 2009 01:00 PM
8800 gt problem in.....plz and thx rob123 Video Cards 7 April 24, 2008 08:32 PM
One nasty landlord:) cdn_Madrach Off Topic 5 April 19, 2007 06:25 AM