Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:25 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 33
Default 32bit or 64bit for gaming?

Hello, i just made a whole new computer
HD 5970
Phenom II x6 2.8ghz
bla bla bla ;)

Is there any games which requires more then 3gb ram?
Or is a 64bit Windows 7 ultimat best?

32 or 64 ? :) i got 8gb DDR3 1333 hz

thanks for viewing :)
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:30 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,584

My System Specs

Default

There is no point in not going 64Bit as its the way software will eventually or more so be going. Hell i think its even cheaper on ncix buying 64bit over 32bit as i believe its going to be the os standard for a while
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 10:55 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

If you have a 64-bit capable system (as basically everything is nowadays), there is no reason to use a 32-bit OS.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 11:28 AM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

I thought that this was settled a long time ago.

However, to answer your question, read the last couple posts :P.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 01:08 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

You got 8GB of ram and you ask about 32bit or 64bit?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 04:14 PM
Kommie986's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Waterloo, Ontario
Posts: 601

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 5ILVgeARX View Post
You got 8GB of ram and you ask about 32bit or 64bit?
30 day no-questions-asked return on most Canadian hardware retailers FTW, eh?
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 30, 2010, 04:45 PM
MrDiaz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 576

My System Specs

Default

Yeah go with 64 bit mate if you want to put to use those 8GB of RAM you have installed
__________________
-- Viva Canada! --
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 01:53 AM
m1dget's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Terrebonne, Qc
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kommie986 View Post
30 day no-questions-asked return on most Canadian hardware retailers FTW, eh?
I have to agree with you. Pointless to have that much memory especially if it's for a gaming computer. It's better to return it to the store if possible.

I would not say the same for video/photo editing/rendering, compiling, something that needs a mfs or whatever else that requires that much ram... but for gaming it's just ridiculous.

To answer the OP more directly; there's no reason to go with 64 bit in windows world unless you do the above (minus gaming) and need that much ram or need to use an application that was only compiled for 64bits.
__________________
"NIX is a classic example of security through obscurity because there is no real monetary reward for crackers and hackers to break Linix" -AkG
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 02:29 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada Eh
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

64 Bit all the way
__________________
Cheers; Snarl

Another Guy From Canada
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 1, 2010, 07:02 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

Better question might be which version, right? I might 'upgrade' to 7 (well, buy OEM) but I see no reason not to get just Home Premium 64-bit. Is it just old software that only has XP versions that wouldn't work on it? Is that how it works? I wanted to make that clear. I believe it's the case but want it confirmed. I don't even want to get a 'new' Windows OS (LOL!) but I'm out of XP copies and want a legit copy. I'm giving my old computer to someone so I'm letting them keep the XP on it.

The new build I'm going to have and install 7 (I guess). I can network the two computers and each computer can access to the other (including writing/copying files to and from), right? The differences mostly regard compatible programs? I even read that there were some workarounds for 'XP only programs' or something like that?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32bit vs 64bit chang2 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 73 September 30, 2009 04:52 PM
XP? Vista? 32bit? 64bit? 7? RainMaker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 30 January 13, 2009 06:08 PM
Vista 32bit or 64bit for gaming cndian O/S's, Drivers & General Software 54 December 10, 2008 05:47 PM
32bit Vs 64bit XP enzeo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 September 28, 2007 01:53 PM
Vista 64bit vs. XP 32bit 4GB RAM bench comparo Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 May 14, 2007 01:09 PM