Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #41 (permalink)  
Old July 22, 2010, 06:48 PM
m1dget's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Terrebonne, Qc
Posts: 707

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agafaba View Post
I remember there was an issue with The Witcher back when it was new that made it crash/act oddly after a set amount of time. This issue was 32bit exclusive though, being on 64bit windows prevented it.

No clue if thats still the case, but its one example of a pro-64bit arguement for gaming.
You've got to be kidding me...
__________________
"NIX is a classic example of security through obscurity because there is no real monetary reward for crackers and hackers to break Linix" -AkG
Reply With Quote
  #42 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2010, 09:17 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Peterborough/Barrie Ontario
Posts: 292
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by m1dget View Post
You've got to be kidding me...
No, and it really was an issue. I dont know the specifics or why it worked, just said that it was one argument for 64bit windows.

Really I think the best point is that if you really get into games the ram of the video card(s) you put in + the ram in your computer will go far above 4gb. The more extreme a gamer you are the bigger the issue.
extreme example: 3x480 SLI +4gb of ram
Reply With Quote
  #43 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2010, 09:24 AM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 811

My System Specs

Default

I've never seen a crash or a blue screen or anything like that happen to Windows since I switched to 64-bit. I used to see loads of it on 32 bit, even 32 bit Windows 7. Lots of blue screens at work with XP 32-bit. Installed Windows 7 32-bit at home for my parents about a month ago and it was blue screening within a day. Reformated with Windows 7 64-bit and I haven't heard a compliant. That's reason enough for me to suggest 64-bit Windows 7 to anyone in the future. Now this could just be pure luck from my point of view. I know very little about programing, but did Microsoft redo a lot of the code for Windows 7 64-bit or something?
Reply With Quote
  #44 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2010, 01:12 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

not sure but i woudl agree i use w7 alot specifically the 64 bit variant and blue screens have been rare for me. Except when the hardware is borked.
Reply With Quote
  #45 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2010, 01:47 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Alberta
Posts: 57
Default

Personally, I've been on Win 7 pro 64bit since about Dec 2009 and don't recall having much troubles with programs that I run nor the hardware I have. I haven't run into any BSODs (at least as far as I remember) That's just me though, maybe I've been lucky? Most of the games I play now I get them from steam and they've all worked without any issues.
Reply With Quote
  #46 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2010, 01:49 PM
scruff's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kamloops B.C.
Posts: 246

My System Specs

Default

I don't see any reason not to go with x64 , while most software is still 32 bit I believe it should start to go away . A lot of the comments here are an echo of when we went from Windows 3.11 to Win 95 and the exact same arguments were going on ,the only difference was 16 to 32 bit, look what we gained going to 32 bit and think of what we might gain by going to 64 bit. X64 is mature enough now to run almost all 32 bit software and the stuff it won't run I have found to be bad programs anyhow. I also find it rather odd the number of people I know still clinging to XP when there are so many better alternatives , and yes I am one of the ones that never had or has any problems with Vista X64 .
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2010, 05:10 PM
spikexp's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Quebec
Posts: 94

My System Specs

Default

All the computer in my house are on Windows 7 64bits, even the 3 on 4 computer with only 2GB of DDR2 (the fourth being my laptop).

I had no problem, some people say that you might have problem with old program and game, but I don't have any :D

In these condition, I see no reason to still use 32bits.
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old July 23, 2010, 05:33 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,582
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scruff View Post
I don't see any reason not to go with x64 , while most software is still 32 bit I believe it should start to go away . A lot of the comments here are an echo of when we went from Windows 3.11 to Win 95 and the exact same arguments were going on ,the only difference was 16 to 32 bit, look what we gained going to 32 bit and think of what we might gain by going to 64 bit. X64 is mature enough now to run almost all 32 bit software and the stuff it won't run I have found to be bad programs anyhow. I also find it rather odd the number of people I know still clinging to XP when there are so many better alternatives , and yes I am one of the ones that never had or has any problems with Vista X64 .
As I've stated before..

That statement of 64bit will catch up.. has been said since the days of early P4 computers.. and how much further are we now? Not a shit lot.
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2010, 05:14 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Canada Eh
Posts: 112

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Agafaba View Post
I remember there was an issue with The Witcher back when it was new that made it crash/act oddly after a set amount of time. This issue was 32bit exclusive though, being on 64bit windows prevented it.

No clue if thats still the case, but its one example of a pro-64bit arguement for gaming.
Actually there are similar issues with LOTRO where they recommend a 64Bit OS with High Res Textures and they cover it in the Official Forums. I beleive Age of Conan may also have similar issues and work better on a 64Bit OS although I'm having a harder time confirming that one or where I read it.
__________________
Cheers; Snarl

Another Guy From Canada
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old July 26, 2010, 01:33 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
You need to do more reading and not listen to manufacturers.

[...]

How to Break the 2TB (2 TeraByte) File System Limit | CarltonBale.com
The article you quote was last updated Dec 2009, very much doubt the writer had a 3TB drive available for testing.

If Seagate stated that their 3TB will not work with any *current* 32-bit OS, unless there's a review somewhere on the drive that showed it will work with 32-bit OS (or MSFT update their software), then what evidence/reason is there to doubt Seagate's statement?
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32bit vs 64bit chang2 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 73 September 30, 2009 04:52 PM
XP? Vista? 32bit? 64bit? 7? RainMaker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 30 January 13, 2009 06:08 PM
Vista 32bit or 64bit for gaming cndian O/S's, Drivers & General Software 54 December 10, 2008 05:47 PM
32bit Vs 64bit XP enzeo O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 September 28, 2007 01:53 PM
Vista 64bit vs. XP 32bit 4GB RAM bench comparo Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 May 14, 2007 01:09 PM