Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 12:29 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default cd key

bought a oem cd key now it wont install any ideas???
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 01:00 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Call up MS and give a lame excuse that your HD failed so you need to reinstall.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 01:02 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Toronto area.
Posts: 170
Default

Can you elaborate a bit?

Does it reject the key?

Does the installer hang?

You can bypass entering the key during the install, Vista can run up to 4 months without entering a key.
__________________
Q6600@3.2ghz
Asus P5N32-E Sli
4gb OCZ Platinum DDR2 @1100mhz
Antec P180
BFG GTX 260 Core 216
Corsair HX-620
Thermaltake Power Express 250W
Raptor150, WD 500gb. WD 300GB
X-Fi Extreme Music
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 01:53 PM
Gav's Avatar
Gav Gav is offline
Administrator
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,343

My System Specs

Default

Also, make sure you are using an OEM CD as they key won't work on a retail version.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 23, 2007, 03:05 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,348

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gav View Post
Also, make sure you are using an OEM CD as they key won't work on a retail version.
this is my thoughts exactly OEM CDs are different then retail I found that out when I lost my win xp oem cd key that I got with my Dell comp lol
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 08:36 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,499

My System Specs

Default

You can use ANY key with ANY install disk for Vista. I just used an OEM key for Vista Ultimate with a Vista Upgrade Premium install disk.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 24, 2007, 10:25 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1lk1 View Post
You can use ANY key with ANY install disk for Vista. I just used an OEM key for Vista Ultimate with a Vista Upgrade Premium install disk.
I'm pretty sure every Vista DVD out there that you can buy is the same. The key just tells it what version to install.

Your (Rapid-X) going to have to explain your problem some more though.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old November 25, 2007, 10:24 AM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,499

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
I'm pretty sure every Vista DVD out there that you can buy is the same. The key just tells it what version to install.

Your (Rapid-X) going to have to explain your problem some more though.
Yes, you said it much better than I did, lol. Any disk can be used with any legitimate key. You can use a Vista Home Basic disk to install Vista Ultimate if you have a legitimate Ultimate key.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old November 27, 2007, 08:38 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default lol

called up vista and they gave me a ultimate key so im great now
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 20, 2007, 05:51 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 5
Default

I'm happy you could fix your problem, but I'm about what is a OEM CD, would you explain it to me please??
Why are they different from the others?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes