Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 09:48 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default Rebuilding Computers. Need to Reinstall Windows?

Ok so I'm going to be rebuilding at least 2 computers and I need some help. First, I'm going to change my Core 2 setup to a AMD Phenom II setup. Only the CPU and motherboard will be changed. For simplicity's sake, I'd like to avoid having to reinstall Windows. Is this possible?

Next, I'm going to rebuild my sister's AMD Athlon X2 setup and replace it with a Phenom II setup as well. This time, the ATI X850XT will be gone as well since the motherboard has integrated graphics. Again, can I avoid having to reinstall Windows?

I understand that there may be some slight driver conflicts, so reinstalling Windows is the best route. However, if I uninstall the drivers properly and run driver cleaner, then all should be well correct?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 10:09 PM
FlyingFish's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 491
Default

Computer 1) You'll probably have to reinstall since you're switching from Intel to AMD. I made a switch last year and windows was quite slow as a result. Although it will work, but it would be worthwhile to reinstall.
Computer 2) As long as the motherboard is the same you won't have to reinstall anything.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 10:10 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

I'm not too sure but when i did a motherboard swap (Gigabyte 770T to a Gigabyte 785GT), I didn't have to reinstall windows. But i did have to update the drivers (obviously)..
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 10:23 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default

Motherboard is different as I'll be going from a ASUS M2N-E to a Gigabyte GA-MA785-UD3H on my sister's rig.

I hate rebuilding...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 20, 2010, 10:38 PM
Caldezar's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Burnaby
Posts: 1,717
Default

What ver. of Windows? Windows 7 is a LOT more forgiving as far as hardware swapping goes. However, my rule has always been: "if the motherboard is changed, reinstall Windows". Almost anything else you can negotiate around relatively easily; but there's too many hassles involved to justify NOT reinstalling when swapping MB's.

Just my 2 cents anyway...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 01:48 AM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,040

My System Specs

Default

Windows XP would most likely require a repair install, but after that would work perfectly.

Windows 7 I would expect to see it boot up and just work....
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 21, 2010, 02:39 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by geokilla View Post
First, I'm going to change my Core 2 setup to a AMD Phenom II setup. Only the CPU and motherboard will be changed. For simplicity's sake, I'd like to avoid having to reinstall Windows. Is this possible?
Unless you have transferable Windows licenses, MSFT's interpretation of the EULA is that a new license is required when you change mobo and cpu. Though some may interpretation said EULA differently...

If the systems and HDDs are more than 3 years old, I'd tend to put in new HDDs and reinstall everything. The newer higher density/platter HDDs will be substantially faster, and you'll also clear out all the junk that's been left behind after the years of usage, and there's a smaller chance of failure (though HDDs are pretty reliable nowadays), anyways, HDDs are cheap.
__________________
iK ©
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 12:01 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

how did it go Geokilla? did you reload windows or try to fight the operating systems with major hardware changes?
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 26, 2010, 07:28 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,627

My System Specs

Default

I was able to run Windows fine, though it didn't take me too long to reinstall it.

I switched from Intel to AMD on the same hard drive, and everything ran fine surprisingly. I was even able to come onto the forums and make a post or two haha. However it was buggy and slow, so formatting was the way to go.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2010, 04:57 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

thanks for the follow up. The time it takes to re-load win7/vista these days it's by far the easier and most effective way to go. Trying to avoid re-loading the OS is generally... um.. inefficient.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Google bans Microsoft Windows on office computers stoanee Press Releases & Tech News 6 June 1, 2010 12:29 PM
Raid 1 keeps Rebuilding Question Malam Storage 0 February 21, 2010 01:12 PM
rebuilding my hard drive tzetsin Troubleshooting 17 June 20, 2009 05:46 PM
Need to reinstall WMP 11 biff O/S's, Drivers & General Software 14 June 2, 2009 07:07 PM
Reinstall XP - 2nd HD issues Matty D Storage 22 November 27, 2008 09:58 AM