Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 02:52 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default Windows N Keys Work With Normal Windows?

Do Windows 7 Home Premium N and KN license keys work with Windows 7 Home Premium and Home Premium K? These files and keys are all from my Technet subscription.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 03:20 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

I'm pretty sure they do not.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 04:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

N is just the version that ships without media player isn't it (Made to comply with EU rulings on bundling the media player)? If so.... install it and use windows update to install media player
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 05:09 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,896

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
N is just the version that ships without media player isn't it (Made to comply with EU rulings on bundling the media player)? If so.... install it and use windows update to install media player
That is correct, however I'm unsure whether or not you can use the key on a non-N disc.

In theory though it should work, just that WMP wouldn't be installed.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 05:18 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
N is just the version that ships without media player isn't it (Made to comply with EU rulings on bundling the media player)? If so.... install it and use windows update to install media player
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
That is correct, however I'm unsure whether or not you can use the key on a non-N disc.

In theory though it should work, just that WMP wouldn't be installed.
According to Wiki, yes they just lack WMP. Reason why I'm asking is because I have a bunch of N keys here untouched from TechNet, and it'd be pretty troublesome if they can only be used on the N discs.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 05:20 PM
Neolithium_Wpg's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Lancaster Park, Alberta
Posts: 732
Default

Unless things have changed recently it won't work. I remember accidentally using an N key for an install of Home Premium (Both from Technet); it got the invalid key for the product selected.
__________________
Dell XPS8700 | Asus x101ch | iPhone 5 (iOS7)
A Veteran, whether Regular Force, Reserve or Retired- is someone who, at one point in their life, wrote a blank cheque made payable to the Dominion of Canada for an amount of "Up to and including my life"
-Author Unknown
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 05:49 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neolithium_Wpg View Post
Unless things have changed recently it won't work. I remember accidentally using an N key for an install of Home Premium (Both from Technet); it got the invalid key for the product selected.
That sucks... Thanks for the info.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 06:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Don't you still have your access to the N download?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 07:37 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Don't you still have your access to the N download?
Yea, but 60GB bandwidth a month can only go so far. Last month I had 20GB remaining and I forgot to use it up. This month, I already used 15GB.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2010, 08:18 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,496

My System Specs

Default

Heh.... you only have to dl it once.... ;)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Windows 7 and Windows Live Mail shaman44 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 April 6, 2010 06:29 PM
Keyboard won't work in BIOS.. Works in Windows MorePower Troubleshooting 5 March 26, 2010 08:41 AM
Windows 7 Installation Problems: Stuck at Expanding Windows Fles flightsimnerd Troubleshooting 9 February 16, 2010 01:57 PM
Windows 7 Boxed Units Outsell Windows Vista by 234% FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 6, 2009 11:41 AM
Windows 7 64-bit RC and Windows Home Server Justin Cider O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 8, 2009 05:24 AM