Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 02:53 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default [fixed] Left my PC for 3 days and Win7 screwed me over.

FINAL UPDATE (within the hour of thread creating FML) - reseated the frickin card and it works now. Thank god for the creation of larry and sergey... I read a suggestion of reseating the card on a different forum, lo and behold windows 7 decides to recognize my card again. Yes I installed my card correctly lol. I didn't touch anything when I left it for 3 days, came back and it just wouldn't cooperate, only reason I can think of now is that there was an earthquake in Toronto that my parent's didn't tell me about.

I left my PC for 3 days with the surgebar flipped off, but the network cable still connected. I returned just now, and I was horrified when Win7 loaded up at 640x480, and the nvidia driver wasn't recognized anymore by micro$h1t windowz. What to do? I don't want to reinstall windows, and windows currently won't let me install the nvidia driver. My (stable) overclock remains intact, so I'm fairly certain that it is not the mobo battery running out during these 3 days.

update: I've narrowed it down to a software issue. Other OS'es that have been coded properly recognize my gtx260 just fine. Here's what windowz sees:
Attached Images
 

Last edited by 0o0; May 22, 2010 at 03:37 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 02:55 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,925

My System Specs

Default

Sounds more like either videocard drivers issue or the videocard itself. I don't think it has anything to do w/ Windows personally.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 03:08 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

well I'm typing on this very computer right now... no artifacts or anything. Device manager says it's some generic vga adapter thingy. the gtx260 is warm, fan's spinning, everything (except the display) is working fine. Could it be possible that the cpu or x58 is rendering the graphics and is porting it through the gtx260? I know that sounds really dumb but desperate times calls for desperate measures... I'm very certain the gtx260 is not the culprit, it has never shown any signs of trouble at all.

update: ubuntu 9.10 recognizes my gtx260 just fine and suggests the appropriate driver. This narrows it down to a software culprit, and I've got my finger pointed at microsoft right now. I don't have any AV other than common sense and mywot addon for FF, which I think is quite sufficient. Is there any way to force a nvidia driver install? Is there some way to select gtx260 as the primary?

Last edited by 0o0; May 22, 2010 at 03:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 03:39 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

NVIDIA Driver Downloads - Advanced Search

Get your drivers from there.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 22, 2010, 03:53 PM
0o0 0o0 is offline
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 855

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
NVIDIA Driver Downloads - Advanced Search

Get your drivers from there.
Yes I do.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard screwed too tight? RLP06 New Builds 8 May 2, 2010 01:43 PM
am i screwed? BobbyLou Off Topic 19 March 2, 2010 09:28 PM
I think my motherboard is screwed how can I tell if that what is my problem? Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 5 July 20, 2009 07:15 AM
My keyboard is screwed!!! jcmaz Off Topic 9 June 30, 2009 07:56 PM
Time screwed? Lpfan4ever Suggestions & Feedback 5 March 8, 2009 10:03 PM