Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2007, 10:48 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default Vista and ICON size?

I have dual booted my pC to have both XP and VIsta. I notcied the icon size on the Vista desktop are large... I for the life of me can't find the settings to make them smaller.. anyone able to point me into the right direction??


thanks....
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old November 10, 2007, 11:26 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

right click on the desktop, and click personalize (Vista), then display settings- increase your resolution
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 01:01 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,944

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by frosty View Post
I have dual booted my pC to have both XP and VIsta. I notcied the icon size on the Vista desktop are large... I for the life of me can't find the settings to make them smaller.. anyone able to point me into the right direction??


thanks....
That's how Vista icons are. You can right click on the desktop, hover on View, then select Classic Icons.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 01:17 AM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Van Isle, BC
Posts: 550
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
That's how Vista icons are. You can right click on the desktop, hover on View, then select Classic Icons.
^^ Yup ^^

I'm on XP at the moment, but if memory serves correctly, you can also adjust icon size by left-clicking on an empty part of the desktop, then hold down CTRL and roll the scroll wheel on your mouse up or down or you can right-click on desktop > Personalize > Colour and Appearance > there should be a link on there that will take you to the advanced section (can't recall what it says) and it will take you to the familiar window that looks like this:
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 04:51 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmac View Post
^^ Yup ^^

I'm on XP at the moment, but if memory serves correctly, you can also adjust icon size by left-clicking on an empty part of the desktop, then hold down CTRL and roll the scroll wheel on your mouse up or down or you can right-click on desktop > Personalize > Colour and Appearance > there should be a link on there that will take you to the advanced section (can't recall what it says) and it will take you to the familiar window that looks like this:
Exactly how you do it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 08:39 AM
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 305
Default

ahhh what a neat trick!!! thankyou..... that worked perfectly...... looks alot better now... It was driving me nuts that I had the screen rez maxed out and they were still huge!!!! all fixed...

thanks a million!!!!!!


cheers!!
__________________
i2600k sandy bridge @ 3.4ghz/ 2x 8800 GTX KO ACS3 PCI-E 630MHZ 768MB 2.0GHZ SLI'd / Raptor 74GB / Antec 1200 Hundred Gaming Case / G.Skill Ripjaws ddr3 1600 cl 8-8-8-24 - 8gigs / evga z68 SLI MOBO / Samsung DVD+RW / Corsair ax850 PSU / 24" Samsung CinkMaster

Cooling:
Swiftech Dual rad
Swiftech Single rad
Swiftech Micro Res
Swiftech Apogee GT Cpu block
Feser One Red Fluid
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old November 11, 2007, 10:51 AM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

Thanks- I never knew that- every day's a school day!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PSU size in Antec p182 tom.mullie Power Supplies 2 January 6, 2008 11:19 PM
Google icon? Squeetard Suggestions & Feedback 4 November 19, 2007 06:27 PM
BBCode and image size Mr. Cipher Off Topic 1 November 6, 2007 10:51 AM
Image Upload Size enaberif Suggestions & Feedback 1 November 3, 2007 09:02 PM
Aero glass icon and show desktop icon D1GGY O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 June 6, 2007 04:58 PM