Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 03:44 PM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default Zapping W7

i had W7 installed on too small a partition and there was not enough space for it to breathe as it should, so i installed W7 on a larger partition.

i would like to know what to do to format that partition so i can use it for other things.
if i right click on the "C" icon and on "format", i says it can't do it.
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 04:22 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

You should be able to go into disk management and see the partition there and then delete it or just reformat it. That said you should not be wiping the C drive as that is your main windows partition.

If you right click on the C drive and select properties it should have the size of the larger one you installed it to.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 04:45 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 1,226

My System Specs

Default

I assume you installed Windows 7 twice to the same hard drive? If so, you may want to watch out because the bootloader may be on that first (smaller) partition. You can check this by seeing if there is a <drive letter>:\boot folder in the drive. If the smaller partition has the \boot and the larger one does not, you may be better off doing the install again, or you'll have to try to restore the bootloader (an activity that I fail 50% of the time ).
You may be in luck if the installer gave you the little 100-200MB partition at the beginning of the drive, in that case the bootloader is there and you shouldn't have issues.

In either case, I'd back up everything before trying to mess with this, or you can end up destroying both installs.
__________________
"The computer programmer says they should drive the car around the block and see if the tire fixes itself." [src]
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 05:34 PM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

i did try, in disk management, to delete it or reformat it, but it did not work.

this former install of W7 was on C, E is on the same HDD.
i installed the new W7 on a different HDD, where i made a partition for this new install; this HDD has D and G, of which G is for the new W7.
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 1, 2010, 09:50 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,074

My System Specs

Default

Unplug power to c/e and reboot d/g will be prime dive relabled c: D: probably reconect c/e and reboot. D/G should be primary and you can wipe C/E drive but I wouldent leave it there as a back up boot drive. YouTube - What is TRIM and Why Does Your SSD Need It? Linus Tech Tips YouTube - Windows 7 install and SSD upgrade on Cameraman's PC (NCIX Tech Tips #65) Watch LINUS tech tips vids informational
__________________
"EVGA hunted down the last dozen or so expats living in Karachi." SKY
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes