Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2010, 02:05 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default Windows Home Server "Vail" beta

Anyone have a chance to look at it yet?

WINDOWS HOME SERVER | Microsoft Connect

(Sorry if I've posted this in the wrong section)
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 29, 2010, 09:57 PM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

i've downloaded i just haven't got around to installing it. What's got me excited about this is it seems to be based on server 2008 which would mean it should support GPT as well as MBR which means 2 TB drives should be supported
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2010, 09:39 AM
Varroa's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: National Capital Region, Canada
Posts: 747

My System Specs

Default

And you can finally back up the OS drive!
__________________
GAMER: Win7 Pro x64, I7 3770K (stock) (CM 212+), Asus P8Z77-V Pro, Gigabyte 7970 OC Ghz Edition 3 GB, Corsair Vengeance LP 4 x 4GB DDR3 1600Mhz, Crucial M4 120 GB + 256GB, Crucial M500 480 GB SSD, 1TB WD Blk, BRD, HX750W, Auz X-Fi Prelude, & Fractal Design Arc MIDI R2

Lenovo Ideapad Y510p: i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz (undervolted by 80mV), 16GB DDR3L-1866MHz, Intel GMA 4600HD / SLI'ed Nvidia Geforce GT 755M 2GB GDDR5, 240 GB Crucial SSD, 128GB M.2 SSD, 15.6" HD+ Glossy LED
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 30, 2010, 01:41 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 242
Default

I do like most of the added/improved features listed here:

What's new in Drive Extender for "Vail"

However I'm bit weary of data in drives no longer being readable by moving them to machines with other Windows OS installed and I don't see continuous/near continuous backup feature that I was hoping for.

But the biggest disappointment is that there doesn't seem to be any provision for migrating backup data from v1 to v2 (it's a given that we can't install a 64-bit OS on top of a 32-bit one). It may make things a bit less painful if we can install the RTM over beta/RC, but AFAICR that's not possible with the last few MSFT OS betas.
__________________
iK
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Adding a fan "port" in a NZXT Beta Strat6 Guides & How-to's 13 October 19, 2009 08:40 AM
Need idea's on an "iso server" of sorts (corporate media, not stealing software) Caldezar New Builds 8 September 10, 2009 12:04 PM
Windows 7 64-bit RC and Windows Home Server Justin Cider O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 8, 2009 06:24 AM
windows home server problem............ rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 February 22, 2009 08:23 AM
WIndows Home Server Oddity............ rob123 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 3 January 4, 2009 05:42 PM