Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 04:44 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,426
Default Speed up Windows 7 boot. [MYTH]

See: http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...tml#post368092


Original Post:

I learned a few things today.

1) Until fairly recently, Windows 7 only utilized one core when it booted. (Gay! )

2) Microsoft added the ability to increase the amount of cores windows uses. (Awesome! )

So for those who don't already know:

Start> enter in msconfig in the "search" box>boot tab>advanced options>check number of processors> select how many cores (physical and logical) you have.

Last edited by encorp; April 24, 2010 at 12:02 AM. Reason: Info is incorrect
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 04:54 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,888

My System Specs

Default

From everyone else (including mine) I never found this helped boot up time at all.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 05:02 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
From everyone else (including mine) I never found this helped boot up time at all.
In the bios; no. Since your system will use them all.

Where it helped me was right as Windows 7 started to load I was able to shave 4 and a bit seconds off. My gadgets and programs snapped in a lot quicker etc.

It's no ultimate fix but I can tell a difference.

I just really, need to go shell out and get an SSD lol.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 05:02 PM
H2O H2O is offline
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 62
Default

Encorp , 2 words ; SSD time
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 05:43 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,554

My System Specs

Default

This is not true, it is a myth.

Windows XP, Vista, and Windows 7 use all available cores during boot up. The only thing this setting does is determine the maximum amount of processors/cores. So basically you can set it to 2 on a quad system and it will only use 2. But if you do not check it, it will still use all the processors/cores you have.

Tweaking Myth: Decrease boot time with msconfig - Within Windows

Myth: Speed Up Windows 7 Boot Up Time

Can a ?Secret? CPU Setting Really Improve Boot-up Time? TuneUp Blog about Windows

There supposedly was an article on the Microsoft KB (KB959233) that said Windows was only using 1 core. This article was removed due to the fact that the statement was false. This setting is really only there as a debug option. Also one other reason not to do it, is the fact that some people have reported major issues just booting after setting this.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 05:54 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,631
Default

+1 to above
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 05:59 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,426
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ipaine View Post
This is not true, it is a myth.

Windows XP, Vista, and Windows 7 use all available cores during boot up. The only thing this setting does is determine the maximum amount of processors/cores. So basically you can set it to 2 on a quad system and it will only use 2. But if you do not check it, it will still use all the processors/cores you have.

Tweaking Myth: Decrease boot time with msconfig - Within Windows

Myth: Speed Up Windows 7 Boot Up Time

Can a ?Secret? CPU Setting Really Improve Boot-up Time? TuneUp Blog about Windows

There supposedly was an article on the Microsoft KB (KB959233) that said Windows was only using 1 core. This article was removed due to the fact that the statement was false. This setting is really only there as a debug option. Also one other reason not to do it, is the fact that some people have reported major issues just booting after setting this.

Awesome! Thankyou. I actually spent a lot of time this afternoon trying to find anything at all on this; and I could not. I did not use the term "myth" in my search and so I actually couldnt really come up with anything to say there was anything wrong with the feature.

I had also read about it on technet so I figured it was totally safe.

Anyways, maybe i should change the title of my thread to HOW NOT to speed up windows 7? hahaha
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 07:17 PM
bovine.baron's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 485

My System Specs

Default

Or "How to trick encorp"
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 07:25 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,426
Default

Haha that works too!
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 23, 2010, 07:27 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,556

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by encorp View Post

Anyways, maybe i should change the title of my thread to HOW NOT to speed up windows 7? hahaha
Try changing the title....
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow internet speed under windows 7 Kyure Networking 6 March 17, 2010 01:11 PM
Trying to get wireless internet to run at full speed on windows 7 BootlegUsher O/S's, Drivers & General Software 18 March 3, 2010 07:40 PM
Boot and speed issues Cobrajr122 Troubleshooting 1 February 15, 2009 12:23 PM
Wireless speed drops after a few minutes after boot Zamundaman Networking 0 December 23, 2008 09:26 AM
USB thumb drive helping with boot speed? Robscix O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 January 6, 2008 07:27 AM