Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old March 29, 2010, 05:30 PM
Top Prospect

Exclamation Linux need help

hi everyone,

i will try to explain my problem here.

i am somewhat new to linux but usually i find my way arround issues and often i find solutions but this time i am stuck. i am using linux backtrack4 distro live cd wich is based on ubuntu. it runs on the memory so i dont have alot of space to save files. what i am trying to do is write a certain file on a partition and it wont want to. first i created a partition using a utility in linux of about 70gb and i am trying to tell to the airodump app to write the file on that partition. the partition is /hda2. i am following a tutotial and it says to write this:

Quote:
airodump-ng wlan0 -w /mnt/hda2/a
"a" is for my .csv file
so basically it is supposed to write the file "a" on the partition /hda2
but i got this message:

Quote:
fopen failed: no such file or directory
could not create "mnt/hda2/a-01.csv"
i tried several combinations but every time i get this message

what am i doing wrong here?

thx

Last edited by SugarJ; March 30, 2010 at 07:45 AM.
Old March 29, 2010, 05:49 PM
Allstar
F@H

just a thought here, have you tried running it as 'sudo' ?
Old March 29, 2010, 05:50 PM
Top Prospect

thx for the reply!

well i am logged in as admin already so i dont need to right? and in all tutorials of backtrack distro they dont specify to write sudo

edit: no it still doesnt work
Old March 29, 2010, 07:57 PM
Allstar
F@H

My System Specs

has the drive been mounted?
Old March 30, 2010, 06:44 AM
Allstar
F@H

I am still rather new at Linux but I know there is a difference between being admin and being root, root being the almighty of Linux accounts.

And grinder has a very good point also.
Old March 30, 2010, 02:27 PM
Banned