Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 12:44 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default Need help...Default pasting options in Excel 2007

My delima, currently building an extensive database of Las Vegas casinos lots of copyig and pasting data from the web. The problem every single item has to be matched to the destination format in the pasting options its alot more clicking than I'd like to be doing, is there someway I can configure Excel to always match the destination format by default. Nothing shows in the advanced tab, I can configure Word to however there doesn't seem to be an option in excel that allows this.

Thanks in advance,

EE

P.S. Yes I have googled this.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 12:49 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,598

My System Specs

Default

Can you give me a bit more details on this as i may have an idea on how to solve it if i am on the same 'page' as you
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 01:04 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Simply put Arinoth, when I copy an address and paste it in Excel I always have to choose the "match the desination format" everything single time. I just want it to automatically match the destination format by default without having to choose the option all the time. Like I said its a whole lot more clicking then I need to be doing, I have 141 entries to finish with complete address and phone numbers to fill in and I am not even halfway as we speak. Need I mention I also have to do listings for Reno, Nevada thankfully its not nearly as much, but I am a stickler for effeciency and this is really slowing me down.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2010, 01:23 PM
chrisk's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GTA, Ontario
Posts: 7,406

My System Specs

Default

I wonder if you just can't copy and paste into a CSV or text file, and then import the whole file into Excel afterwards.
__________________
Fold for team #54196
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 10:07 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Montreal, Qc
Posts: 111

My System Specs

Default

That whole "keep original format" infuriates me as well (it does it in Outlook too!). You can turn it off in Word, but not in Excel.

A workaround is to enter edit mode (double-click) in the cell you want to paste text into, then hit backspace or F2 before pasting. This will force it to match original formatting.

It's one more key press, but a lot quicker than having to mouse over the "Keep destination formatting" option.
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 22, 2010, 11:03 PM
MAK MAK is offline
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 81
Default

Why don't you write a macro for this?
1. Copy one of the addresses you need to the clipboard.
2. In Excel, Click a cell in the spreadsheet.
3. On the View tab, Macros panel, click Record Macro.
4. Enter a name for the macro (something like PasteWithDest)
5.Assign a shortcut like CTRL+H.
6. Click OK.
7. On the Home tab, Clipboard panel, click Paste.
7. Click the paste options pulldown, and select "Match Destination Formatting".
8. On the View tab, Macros panel, click Stop Recording.

That's it. Your macro will paste and change the destination formatting everytime you run it (in the case here, you press CTRL+H).

Is this what you needed?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual boot default OS option headsh0t O/S's, Drivers & General Software 6 February 8, 2010 07:35 PM
EXCEL help LC0g O/S's, Drivers & General Software 15 February 3, 2010 10:55 AM
excel - timetable for work CTA O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 March 26, 2009 01:04 PM
Options.... if any? 3.0charlie O/S's, Drivers & General Software 16 July 8, 2007 10:20 AM
Check your default HD settings sswilson Troubleshooting 5 July 7, 2007 05:37 PM