Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 04:14 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default Unable to reformat pc, error keeps popping up!

Hey!!

As the title says, everytime i try to reformat my pc an error message pops up saying that "Windows cannot access the required file D:\Sources\Boot.wim.".

How do i fix this problem?

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 04:16 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

More system specs please, also at what point in the format does this happen?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 04:20 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,476

My System Specs

Default

Is this a legit ISO of the OS? The disk apparently is missing a file........
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 04:55 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

^ bingo my thought too. burned disk that messed up
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 07:13 PM
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 276
Default

naughty, naughty!

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 08:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
More system specs please, also at what point in the format does this happen?
Asus Maximus Formula
intel i5 750
Seagate 1TB
4GB ripjaws
XFX 4890
Corsair H50

umm after step 2 or something of the process the message pops up
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 08:29 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 14
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Is this a legit ISO of the OS? The disk apparently is missing a file........
its a legit windows vista ultimate.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 08:34 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ezytgr View Post
its a legit windows vista ultimate.
so hard to have info here.. is it an ISO, what version of Ultimate you have , full, upgrade, OEM
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 08:43 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

any scratches on the disk then?
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 09:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,476

My System Specs

Default

Ok, so if it's a proper install disk, first try to get your hands on a different install disk (just use your own personal key) and if that doesn't work, it's time to start eliminating hardware that might be faulty, and thus failing once the OS installs the full drivers for it.

Try running a boot memtest cd (obcd is my choice), if that doesn't find any issues then turn off all "extra" hardware in your bios (things like audio / lan / Floppy disk controllers / etc.... ).
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5970 with 285 benches before reformat gerardfraser Video Cards 7 November 26, 2009 09:57 AM
heard gtx285 very high crysis have textur popping hohohee Video Cards 2 May 5, 2009 07:28 PM
Popping and cracking on integrated sound chrisk Troubleshooting 9 March 22, 2009 11:27 AM
reformat prob(posting for friend) cmac79 Troubleshooting 19 August 10, 2008 08:45 PM
AVG notice just started popping up saying it's discontinued.... Misoprostol O/S's, Drivers & General Software 19 January 6, 2008 09:12 AM