Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 09:25 AM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default Windows 7 OEM Question

Noob question: Can I purchase and install the following OEM version for my Vista 64 laptop, without purchasing any hardware and without install (license) issues?

Buy MICROSOFT [FQC-00765] Microsoft Windows 7 Professional Edition 64BIT DVD OEM

Thanks in advance everyone.

__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 09:37 AM
MrDiaz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 576

My System Specs

Default

Of course you can, note that once you install that on your laptop you can't just install it on another computer. It "ties" to the hardware. I've done it before with Vista by talking to Microsoft though, but just making sure you know the differences.
__________________
-- Viva Canada! --
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 16, 2010, 12:58 PM
Fudd Rucker's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SSM Ont
Posts: 942

My System Specs

Default

Ive noticed a lot recently that the online activation never works and I end up having to do the phone activation. Minor inconviance but a pain in the arse none the less.
__________________
I couldnt think of something snarky or interesting to put here this time around.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 07:16 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

Well I ordered it yesterday and it should be at home by the time I get there on the weekend. Will install give the option to format my C: drive or do I have to do that prior to trying to install. Also the HD is partitioned. Will I lose the partition and data stored on it. Any info would be helpful. Thanks.

__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 07:55 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

You can install on an existing partition and format when you install. If you get stuck just ask :)
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 08:45 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

The OEM install works exactly the same way as a full retail copy would. You can create, delete, and format partitions to your heart's content .
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 08:46 PM
misterlarry's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: The Woodlands, Texas
Posts: 1,356

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Eldonko. It's been a while since I installed an OS and I don't have time to screw around.

__________________
Asrock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3 - Intel i5 2550K @ 3.4 GHz - Corsair H80 CPU Cooler- 4x4 GB G.Skill Ares DDR3 1600 - EVGA GTX560 Ti
1x120 GB Mushkin Chronos Enhanced SSD - 1x500 GB Seagate Hybrid Momentus - 2x500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 - Pioneer DVR-212D - Antec P182 - Corsair TX650 - 22" Hanns-G - Windows 7 Pro 64 SP1



The world is your oyster. Shuck away my friend, shuck away!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 09:52 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

If you have other partitions, does it give you the option to NOT format those?

I have read of horror stories where people have installed 7 on multi-boot systems and it formatted their 'non-NTFS' partitions to NTFS much to their chagrin.

I assume that they didn't pay enough attention to the Windows options given to them and 'okay'ed' prompts that they shouldnt have!

There must be prompts that allow a configured or manual install allowing to avoid such procedures, right?

I also wanted to confirm that one can use the Windows 7 install disc to align and format partitions (to NTFS, of course) but not requiring you to install the OS. For e.g., using this process to use the drive as a storage drive.

These might be considered silly (even dumb) questions but I just wanted to confirm for my own peace of mind. I'm considering picking up a copy of Windows 7 HP OEM. I would use it to format a storage drive and install it temporarily on a HDD (later to a SSD).

I also was wondering whether you can install files and programs that were created in XP to a drive that was formated NTFS using Windows 7. Any implications there?

Thanks for any answers.

P.S. I hope OP doesn't mind me hijacking his thread briefly. I thought it was a bit on-topic enough not to warrant another thread but we'll see what people say....
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 09:54 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

BTW, OP, I think you can price match that copy to as low as $140.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2010, 10:01 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by technix View Post
If you have other partitions, does it give you the option to NOT format those?
Yes, absolutely. You can perform operations on individual partitions without affecting others.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
retail cd key with oem windows XP Bubbzilla Troubleshooting 1 October 19, 2009 09:16 PM
Windows 7 - Retail / OEM Availability Query rjbarker O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 October 16, 2009 02:02 PM
[WTB] Windows Vista x64 OEM or Retail netforce Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 17, 2009 05:32 AM
I learned something about OEM WIndows today... death_hawk O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 July 28, 2008 08:43 PM