Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 9, 2010, 11:51 PM
BrokenHalo83's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 257

My System Specs

Default Dual booting linux/win 7 problems

I finally decided to give linux a whirl. I already had win 7 installed as my main OS. I installed Linux mint 8 under the "install side by side" option. When the computer loads and comes to the OS selection screen, the keyboard doesnt seem to work so i cant select windows to load. Any ideas as to where i went wrong?
__________________
Main system down....
Running a craptastic Compaq
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2010, 11:13 AM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Paradise, Newfoundland
Posts: 826

My System Specs

Default

What type of PC you have and is your keyboard USB or PS2? I've found some olders PCs hard problems with USB keyboards before boot.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2010, 03:00 PM
BrokenHalo83's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 257

My System Specs

Default

It's a phenom II board. GA-790FXTA-UD5. But that seems to be the issue im having. I use a Razer Arctose KB and it doesnt respond when the OS selection comes up
__________________
Main system down....
Running a craptastic Compaq
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 10, 2010, 05:56 PM
Toyoracer's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Kootenays
Posts: 317
Default

Do you have boot loader like grub installed? Or try another keyboard.

Mint 8 -known issues- comes with out windows installer

Last edited by Toyoracer; March 10, 2010 at 06:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 03:30 AM
BrokenHalo83's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Posts: 257

My System Specs

Default

Yea, it had grub imstalled. If mint 8 is no good. what linux should i give a try?
__________________
Main system down....
Running a craptastic Compaq
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 05:32 AM
yamawho's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Rosemere, Qc, Canada
Posts: 860
Default

Linux Mint is based on ubuntu so you could try another distro that isn't ...

Fedora - Mandriva - Mepis - SuSe etc ...

Try running it from the live cd before you install it as well.

I have found the they run better on intel hardware out of the box and AMD systems need tweaking.
This experience comes from running linux over the last 9 years ...

Also, I don't install the OS on the same hdd ... I find it better to add a 2nd hdd and run it off that.

Good luck
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 07:40 AM
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 735
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yamawho View Post
Linux Mint is based on ubuntu so you could try another distro that isn't ...

Fedora - Mandriva - Mepis - SuSe etc ...

Try running it from the live cd before you install it as well.

I have found the they run better on intel hardware out of the box and AMD systems need tweaking.
This experience comes from running linux over the last 9 years ...

Also, I don't install the OS on the same hdd ... I find it better to add a 2nd hdd and run it off that.

Good luck
Hi, I dual boot XP and Linux and plan on doing the above when I get Windows 7.

I am not inclined to agree about differences in hardware although there are claims of newer AMD hardware having issues when the computer is in AHCI mode, I think.

I think a USB wired keyboard would normally not be a problem. Try another USB port and reboot. Does the keyboard work or not? If you still have a problem, maybe reinstall although you shouldn't have to.

I have installed a lot of distros and currently have five installed with XP as the other option. I don't use a fancy keyboard but haven't had a problem.

If you can, download a flavor of Ubuntu, Fedora, Debian, OpenSUSE LiveCD or whatever you like and try it out before installing. Good Luck.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 08:05 AM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Paradise, Newfoundland
Posts: 826

My System Specs

Default

Yeah a system that new shouldn't have problems with USB keyboards.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 08:09 AM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

the board is a Gigabyte don't ask question, I have a lot of keyboard related problem with my P55 board, and it's related to the BIOS, so I suspect they can have the same problem in their AMD board too. I have to unplug and replug the keyboard to make it work, very annoying, and an other member change is motherboard for the same reason

the solution may be to shut down the pc and after restart with the power switch . if you just make restart it will happen.

Last edited by MarkOne; March 11, 2010 at 08:16 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 11, 2010, 08:31 AM
punk_zappa's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Yellowknife
Posts: 965
Default

This same issue happened to me. I ran the Live CD and everything checked out working but once installed, keyboard did not work. Their forum did not help that much either. I would suggest you try PClinuxOS and see how it goes.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Start Button and Taskbar problems. Win 7 shammancer O/S's, Drivers & General Software 0 January 5, 2010 01:52 PM
Win 7, XP Dual boot miggs78 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 August 23, 2009 10:46 PM
Dual Booting causing problems for the 1st time element291 Troubleshooting 5 May 15, 2009 05:47 PM
Dual Booting ALWAYS Corrupts New OS Tw3ak3r O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 May 5, 2009 04:29 PM
Booting problems on a 5 months old computer foxman Troubleshooting 12 November 21, 2008 05:06 PM