Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 12:33 AM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default Trying to get wireless internet to run at full speed on windows 7

So I have the Linksys WUSB600N wireless adapter and a matching router. When I was on windows XP my internet ran at 130 mbs/s. I built a new PC with windows 7 and I downloaded the windows 7 driver off the linksys website. After installing the driver my internet works, but is capped at 54mbs/s.

I tried calling linksys but the lady on the phone was useless and just kept telling me to check the support website, which I have already done.

I would like to get my internet back up to full speed because after all, I paid good money for a product that isn't even that old so I expect it to work.

Before on XP I used the installation CD and it installed a linksys utility. Now on windows 7 it seems like the ultility can't be installed and windows does it on its own now.

Any ideas how to get my speed back? Or did linksys just leave its customers high and dry?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 01:45 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Is there any chance you picked up another wireless device between the time you remember getting full wireless "N" speeds and now? If you've got a wireless "G" device connected to the router it'll default down to that speed for all connections.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 10:49 AM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,577
Default

-all the modes set correctly?
-computer is it the same position as before?
-no other wireless device?
-did a speed test between both XP and 7, reproducible?


I've seen integrated wireless N work perfectly on laptops, on windows 7
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 10:56 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

You didn't say what router you were using?

As stated above are there any other wireless devices?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 11:24 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Can you go into your router wirelesse utility page and print screen it ? It looks like you are running at G speed, wich is normally some settings from the router. Enven 130 Mb/s looks to me like you had an hibryd connection going on.
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 11:47 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
Can you go into your router wirelesse utility page and print screen it ? It looks like you are running at G speed, wich is normally some settings from the router. Enven 130 Mb/s looks to me like you had an hibryd connection going on.
N can max out at 130.


What about the antenna? is it in the same place? 2.4 or 5ghz?
__________________
Optimus: Antec P180, Asus P5Q-E, E8400, 4 GB RAM, Asus 4850, Seagate 320gb, Antec TC II

Teletraan I: Asus P5K-E/WIFI, E4500, 2 GB RAM, ATI 3450, Sapphire Theatrix, 2.25TB storage, Antec SP2 400w

Galvatron: Asus M2NPV-VM, 3800+ X2, 2GB RAM, NV8500GT, Seasonic 500w

Tracks: Acer AS5920, C2D 2.1ghz 45nm, 3GB DDR2, NV8600m GT, 250gb hdd

Hound: Gigabyte GA-MA74GM-S, AMD 4400+ X2, 1 GB RAM, 2900XT, 500w Seasonic

My Heatware!
| Got RMA? Tell us your experience! | VOIP Help? PM ME!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 11:52 AM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by matsta31 View Post
Can you go into your router wirelesse utility page and print screen it ? It looks like you are running at G speed, wich is normally some settings from the router. Enven 130 Mb/s looks to me like you had an hibryd connection going on.
When you say print screen the wireless utility page, do you mean the green icon that is normally in the system tray at the bottom? That is no longer there on windows 7. I will go into more detail.

Adapter: WUSB600N version 1

Router: WRT160N version 1

The installation CD does nothing, it just gets to the part where it asks you to plug the adapter in and hit continue. When I hit continue, nothing happens. No configuration utility.

So what I did was uninstall everything, simply plug my adapter in, then go to device manager and click update drivers, where I selected my windows 7 64 but driver. Everything loads nicely, takes about 5 seconds and then I see that I can enter my network password and voilla, I am connected, but at 54mb/s.

This is the same device that I was getting 130 mb/s on under windows XP. My security level should be the same too, which is WPA personal TKIP.

I built a new PC with windows 7, clean install. The computer is in the same place as the old PC.

On a side note, wow is linksys support awful. The people on their 24 hour tech support line tell me that since my product is past the warranty date, they cannot help me unless I pay $30! They could literally know exactly what the problem is and tell me what to do over the phone, but they won't unless I pay more money. If they want to destroy customer loyalty as fast as possible, they are doing a goood job.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 12:52 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

It still sounds to me like you're using a wireless G card somewhere in the household. Any chance you've picked up a wireless printer, or are you using a wireless console?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 01:07 PM
BootlegUsher's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 453
Default

I have a wireless printer, and I had it back when I was getting 130 mb/s on my old PC. Also, it is connected to this particular computer by USB, not wireless.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 3, 2010, 01:13 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Check to make sure that the wireless module is turned off. If it is, have a look at the log inside your router to see what devices are connected.

Unless this is a $200+ Dual Band wireless N router it will not do wireless G and wireless N at the same time.... if there is a single wireless G device connected, it will default to wireless G for all connected devices.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Tags
wusb600n

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
slow internet speed under windows 7 Kyure Networking 6 March 17, 2010 01:11 PM
Speed up your internet... Squeetard Networking 14 January 13, 2009 11:31 AM
High Speed Internet from Videotron zer0.cool Off Topic 11 August 1, 2008 05:44 PM
Need High Speed Cable Internet - Please Help Dashock Off Topic 29 April 7, 2008 08:15 PM