Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2011, 12:16 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 14
Default

Depends on your needs, for 64 bit windows 7 you need atleast 4GB REM, and the drawback is that 32 bit drivers will not work with the 64 bit, you will need to change all the drivers. 64 bits is not compatible with the some of your old software which are designed for the XP versions, and you use them quite regularly, you will also does not see any increment in the speed of programs because most of the programs are designed for the 32 bits.

digital signature
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2011, 07:00 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

thread revival
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2011, 04:35 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

My old 32bit drivers works fine on 64bit os.

But sadly not all CPUs support 64bit.


Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 Installation Problems: Stuck at Expanding Windows Fles flightsimnerd Troubleshooting 9 February 16, 2010 02:57 PM
Windows 7 Boxed Units Outsell Windows Vista by 234% FiXT Press Releases & Tech News 0 November 6, 2009 12:41 PM
Windows 7/Vista/XP questions! Schnerf O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 September 2, 2009 02:06 AM
Windows 7 64-bit RC and Windows Home Server Justin Cider O/S's, Drivers & General Software 2 August 8, 2009 06:24 AM
Windows 7 Questions. Dr_BenD_over O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 February 24, 2009 11:56 AM