Go Back   Hardware Canucks > SOFTWARE > O/S's, Drivers & General Software

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 05:00 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default Dual boot default OS option

On a computer is installed 2 OS'es, Vista x64 and Windows7 x64. The first one installed was Vista, so it is the default option when the computer boots up. Is there a way to change this and make Windows 7 the default option at the boot screen?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 07:01 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,037

My System Specs

Default select boot in BIOS

Go into BIOS and sellect first boot dvd drive, second boot Win7 drive, third boot vista drive

Should work as long as each OS is on a difernt drive lable( C:, F:)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 07:03 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Forgot to mention the'yre on the same hard drive.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 07:06 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

here we go. go to the windows in the back, advance setting, at left , the small windows on front will open, the last setting at the bottom ( setting not variable ) , you will find the rest in the new windows that will open ( good I put a pic, becasue I can't even fallow my own instruction )


Last edited by MarkOne; February 8, 2010 at 07:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 07:12 PM
headsh0t's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Winnipeg, MB
Posts: 2,565

My System Specs

Default

Thanks Mark! Easy as pie. Mmmmm pie.

edit-I understood your first instructions perfectly.

Last edited by headsh0t; February 8, 2010 at 07:48 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 07:27 PM
ZZLEE's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: KANATA
Posts: 2,037

My System Specs

Default Type in (format disk into search box)

Type in Format disk into search box in windows 7 . ( create and format disk partions) shoud come up click on that. A grafhic of your drive should come up You should have partitons of where the OS of windows 7 And Vista on the drive. Click on the Windows 7 partion make sure it is the one you want with Win 7 in it. There will be a small partion on the drive that will be drivers and win & kerrnal leave it alone. Right click on the Win 7 drive.It should get slashes though it. put your mouse on the slashed drive and left click.

Chouse ( change Letter and path) switch letter on your two drives.

See if it boots to windows 7

( win 7 should have created its own partitions when it laded in on install )

Edit this is the hard way
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 8, 2010, 07:35 PM
MarkOne's Avatar
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chertsey 60 KM north of Montreal
Posts: 4,015
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ZZLEE View Post
See if it boots to windows 7

see if it boots. I don't feel to secure about your method
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Win 7, XP Dual boot miggs78 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 August 23, 2009 09:46 PM
Dual boot Raid 0 Frank Booth O/S's, Drivers & General Software 10 June 10, 2009 08:28 PM
Dual boot failure? thatguy Troubleshooting 1 January 26, 2009 10:48 PM
Dual boot vista 64 on second HD Babrbarossa O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 December 4, 2007 01:42 PM
dual boot how to ? Jim Storage 18 August 11, 2007 05:45 PM